Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-01 - 3:37 p.m.

Foxfire

I must look up the Foxfire books on eBay. That would be a good set to have. I especially liked reading them in the 70's when life seemed pretty shaky. That is so funny because life is just as shaky now or more. 800 mentioned today how much trouble everyone would be in if the electricity went off and that is when I mentioned the Foxfire books. He might enjoy them also.

I remarked that I could always dig out my Mother Earth News magazines. "You mean your Mousey Earth News?" 2d asked, since she knows they are stored in the garage. She was really on a roll today. My fortune cookie from last nite which I opened and ate before dinner said 'Knowledge is needed for your work, and Wisdom is needed for your life.' At which, she wisecracked, "Oh,oh, Mom's dead!" She gets a big kick out of teasing and nagging me. I guess it is payback time.

We sang The Lighthouse at church today. Between the 2 of us, we goofed it up, but covered up the mistakes. Isaac wants to make a new neck for my banjo which I lent him last month. He has a book with instructions for making a banjo and figures he can use mine for a piece-by-piece reconstruction. I am agreeable because he is a good kid and I know it would be replaced if hurt irretrievably. It wasn't much of a banjo when I bought it at the pawn shop and any repairs he does will probably improve it. I am sure not going to use it in the near future.

If I do anything in the area of musical instruments, I need to concentrate on the guitar, getting it restrung, touching up the places where the enamel has cracked off, getting a case for it and teaching d some chords. I have shown him the cheat G and D and he has done better with those than I thought he would. He has such a hard time carrying the melody singing that I figured he wouldn't be able to tell when to change chords. But he can. He can't make his voice do what he wants it to but he can hear the changes that need to be made.

I haven't felt the urge to make music for myself for a long time. 2d floods our home with singing and playing and it is always a blessing. When I express a liking for some type of music, she buys a piano book and plays for me. I was so pleased when she did this with the music from The Firm. She had never played blues before and does not really have a feel for it but she is so technically proficient that she does ok.

Her music lessons were the best money we ever spent.

She starts the new year with her students on Tuesday and it will be interesting to hear what will be the themesongs this year. One year it was music from Annie, another The Little Mermaid, some years it is classical, and others it is folk. Many afternoons I am lulled to sleep by the strains from the studio beneath my bedroom.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!