Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-02-04 - 12:44 p.m.

Where is Dorothy?

Where is Dorothy?

-

I am getting more and more stove up and it is affecting my schedule. I must start adding a little more time to getting to work and church. We have been late the last 3 weeks and it is mostly because of me. Granted, I have a good excuse. I have worked very hard all night, it is my work Friday, and I am in my sixth decade, but I can make changes. Here are a few.

I will no longer check email before I get into the shower. I will no longer opt for a hot bath instead of a shower ( for one thing, it is getting harder and harder to get my knee to work in and out of the tub, for another, it feels so good to soak the extremities that I tend to take more time.) I will no longer try to get in a few minutes of This Week. George Stephanopolus is just so cute, and his Democrat ideas are always tempered with his common sense view. I have long admired him as a semi-politician when he worked on the Clinton campaign and then in the administration. It was no surprise to me when he no longer fit in with that group. I read with interest his book of those days especially observing the lack of rancor when it probably would have been well deserved. I often wondered at his personal life, unmarried and not involved with scandal. He is Greek Orthodox and I think it is real to him. Mixed in with all their tradition is some basic truth holding. Perhaps God will open his eyes someday for the need of a personal relationship with Jesus. In any case, he and the others on that show are one of the few media groups I watch. Sometimes their views are far from mine, but they are all people of integrity, and truth is hard to avoid when you are a person of integrity. Truth crosses party and denominational and territorial lines much to our discomfort sometimes.

Another thing I will try to avoid is getting involved in long personal care duties which used to be short personal care duties. Applying lotions has turned into a much more time consuming job than it used to be. Now is that because there is more territory to apply to, or because the applier has slowed way down? Either answer is untenable!

In any case there are things I can arrange and do to be on time again. I wish other areas of my life were as easy to reorder. All reordering consists of sacrifice of one level or another, and I am not a very good sacrificer at times. Help me to 'will and to do' of Your good pleasure.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!