Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-01-30 - 10:59 a.m.

is that true?

is that true?

-

Been thinking about something that wg said. He had noticed lots of older people seem to backslide or lose spiritual soundness. I think that can appear to be true. Someone who has not been a socialite churchgoer loses some things that keep them active in a body. And activity is one method used by observers to chart spiritual heat. It is not always a very accurate gauge, but some times is.

Some of the things that keep one active publicly change as the years do. The need to keep a young family heading down the right path, with the right companions and with the right slant on life is important. The need to be involved in decision making so one can keep a young family heading------- is another important item. The need for a structure to keep oneself heading down the right road is another reason to appear active. The need to 'network' is another valid reason. None of these reasons are inherently bad or good, just there. When the reasons are no longer there, often the public role diminishes.

But there are negative reasons, also. Some folks grow sweeter as the years pass, some grow bitter. I don't know what determines the flavor. Personality, perhaps. And I don't know if one can consciously change their own flavor. I certainly hope so. I would like to recognize and change bitterness in myself. Sometimes we just get tired of the contending that goes on in any group especially as the culture or the controlling age group changes.

All of the above is very worldly and rational musing and has no room for the Spirit's guidance. You are the one Who can speak from behind us, saying, 'This is the way, walk ye in it.' The observations of others are not nearly as vital as listening for that Voice. Sharpen my ears, Father.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!