Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, May. 22, 2004 - 11:35 a.m.

Just like the old days

This like the Saturdays I remember most fondly. Nothing scheduled, just lazy doings of what comes next. I went out early to sprinkle some zinnia seeds I have planted. Yes, hope springs eternal, even for Old 2 Black Thumbs. Then back into the kitchen to make a piece of toast with Muenster melted on it and a cup of flavored espresso. Back outside to the deck, this time with a sweater and dry slippers. There is no more early sun on the deck now that the tree has grown the way it has. 800 is talking of cutting off a couple of branches, and while I hate to see them go, it will let the sun in once more. I moved down the stairs to the park bench which is sitting in the sunshine and read while I finished my drink. A lone pelican flew slowly over, looking like a relic from another age. They nest on the river and we often see groups of them swimming or landing, but rarely a single one. A magpie landed clumsily at the edge of the yard where the sprinkler ran. Once they are on the ground, they look so elegant, but they have such obnoxious personalities. Very full of themselves. They remind me of Robert. Such striking black and white, and so full of hooey.

2d is playing and singing in her studio. 800 has gone to Green Pond to fish. There is an open house for a homeschool graduate at his house this pm. 2d will go but I will not. I have a copy of Mark of a Man by Elisabeth Elliott that I will send or take to church tomorrow. That is what I gave all the senior boys at school for years. The girls got Passion and Purity by Elisabeth. They probably didn't get read at the time, but maybe someday... She is such a wise lady, so out of step with our world but so in step with You. Peculiar--help us not to lose that special quality.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!