Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jan. 14, 2004 - 12:44 p.m.

One step forward........*pic

Uploading images is harder than I thought. For awhile I thought I had it whipped last night but no.....

I have to find some way to compress my images before I load them into Diaryland. myImager is not accepting any more that 200 KB and the ones I am sending are 10 times that.

2d took pics of the grands with her new camera. The imnages are great and scan into My Pictures great but they are too big to send. There IS an answer, I KNOW it. Now to find it. 2d has taught e to ski this season and says she is a natural. e already doesn't have to wear her edgie-wedgies anymore to keep her ski tips in a pizza pie shape so she doesn't lose control and bomb down the slope.

Where were all these tips when I was learning to ski. I might have hung in there and learned. Naw----who am I kidding? I don't like to be out in the cold unless I have to. Sitting in the lodge is as close as I wanted to get to skiing.

When the big grands go skiing with 2d on Saturday, e gets to go too. The big grands all have season passes this year. That is what 2d got d for Christmas this year. His mom is way too destitute to afford that and 2d feels sorry enough for him during the season to take him lots so it is actually cheaper for her to get the pass in September and take him each weekend. When the big girls go, they like to take turns on the lift with e. She sits back and doesn't fool around and doesn't fall getting off at the top. Much better than Granny ever did!

Our ski family is fortunate to live only half an hour away from the slopes and live near one that only charges $20 for a lift ticket. Solvale's are up to almost $70. 2s and ex each get the girls a pass and they use them in Ski Club too. We were dirt poor when 2d started in second grade but I would scrape up $60 for 6 weeks of lessons, lift, and rental equipment and pack lunches. Six weeks satisfied the ski bug usually when she was in school and once she was out, being an instructor paid for all the skiing she wanted. Once she was old enough to earn a little money as a teen, she would save her own money for those 6 weeks and often paid for the gas up there. The last few years we rode the bus from the school for $2 a time. I rode free and rode herd on the students. We didn't have a dependable rig at the time and the driver of the bus was good.

Little sis said it was a couple of hundred dollars each ski trip for them so I felt it was not necessarily a rich man's sport in our area. The Great Rationalizer rides again!

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!