Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jan. 09, 2004 - 10:27 a.m.

Shhhh!!! I am a thief.

And here is my latest loot:

-

-

For those of us who enjoy the English language ...

Those who jump off a bridge in Paris are in Seine.

A backward poet writes inverse.

A man's home is his castle, in a manor of speaking.

Dijon vu - the same mustard as before.

Practice safe eating - always use condiments.

Shotgun wedding: A case of wife or death.

A hangover is the wrath of grapes.

Dancing cheek-to-cheek is really a form of floor play.

Does the name Pavlov ring a bell?

Condoms should be used on every conceivable occasion.

Reading while sunbathing makes you well red.

When two egotists meet, it's an I for an I.

A bicycle can't stand on its own because it is two tired.

What's the definition of a will? (It's a dead giveaway.)

Time flies like an arrow. Fruit flies like a banana.

In democracy your vote counts. In feudalism your count votes.

She was engaged to a boyfriend with a wooden leg but broke it off.

A chicken crossing the road is poultry in motion.

If you don't pay your exorcist, you get repossessed.

With her marriage, she got a new name and a dress.

When a clock is hungry, it goes back four seconds.

The man who fell into an upholstery machine is fully recovered.

You feel stuck with your debt if you can't budge it.

Local Area Network in Australia: the LAN down under.

He often broke into song because he couldn't find the key.

Every calendar's days are numbered.

A lot of money is tainted - It taint yours and it taint mine.

A boiled egg in the morning is hard to beat.

He had a photographic memory that was never developed.

A plateau is a high form of flattery.

A midget fortuneteller who escapes from prison is a small medium at large.

Those who get too big for their britches will be exposed in the end.

Once you've seen one shopping center, you've seen a mall.

Bakers trade bread recipes on a knead-to-know basis.

Santa's helpers are subordinate clauses.

Acupuncture is a jab well done.

-

-

-

I don't know where those originated, but they are mine now. Thanks, guys.

Here is something else I found. It is a good thing to remember when one might wonder just why Saddam had to go. There are other countries who are williing to harbour the ones who want do to more of the same, and Sam Adams' words fit very well. France's attitude towards known or strongly suspected terrorists living there is disturbing. If our country knew of the man who missed his flight from France to the US, you can bet French officials knew also.

I got up at 4 am yesterday to do some tinkering on the net. I removed my album at fotki. I was starting to detect a faint odour of 'Look at me. Ain't I great'. Not the site's fault, just mine. Forgive me.

After repeated checking, I discovered EE's devotional is not always there now. The one that came after the holidays was much longer than the daily ones before and I thought the holiday hiatus might be just that, but perhaps one a day is proving to be a bit much for this grand old lady. What's the matter with her, she's only in her late 70s? Well, I will leave the shortcut up because whenever she chooses to post one, I shall be glad to read it and pass it along.

I am going to try to upload images to this journal while I can, but I just can't seem to make that work yet. Will just have to keep tugging away at it.

Yesterday was extremely busy and potentially stressing. Thank You for keeping me at rest. 800 had scheduled the Marquis for repair and I could just see the dollars flying away when the crooked motor company was finished. They pulled a $250 shenanigan on poor 1d about rolling her back window up permanantly. We girls need to get 800 to negotiate for us. They quoted him $129.95 to fix the gear shift indicator and he said he didn't want it to go any higher ("half hour's labour and a 79cent part" he said) They added a few cents on for tax since the part was $4.50 so I felt OK. I also paid 1d's rent for another month. That amounts to 25% of my monthly income and I sure hope I can keep doing it until she gets on SS. If she doesn't get on SS, she will have to move back with us until she can get in a housing project based on her income which is nothing right now. She gets a little child support and that only sporadically. It has been good for her to have to live this way though. Her trust has had to be in You for nearly every situation and You have sustained her. I know she realizes how badly she was handling finances when she was making good money as a nurse. I am afraid she is a lot like her mother. We always have to go the hard way. Is that being bull-headed or just dumb?

I am still waiting to hear if WIA will pay for all my Activity by Contract fees. But I am resigned either way. In fact I have already decided not to go to town every day to do the exercises. Only once or twice. Once is required for the class, and everyday would be good for my knee but 5 trips a week, plus my regular trips to class would really be expensive. I think WIA will pay for the trips to class so good weather could be an encouragement to go more often. Of course, once the weather is better, I can walk or ride the three wheeled bike again. I can tell already that the stress of standing or walking on concrete 8 hours a nite is abating. The pain is not nearly as bad, and the swelling is controllable. No Vioxx, no compression stockings, no knee braces, and only 3 ibuprofen a day instead of 3 every 4 hours.

My case manager gave me permission to enroll in whatever computer classes I want to take since the Library Science advisor said everything but basic programming would be good. I don't know what grades I got last semester. I had better go take a look.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!