Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jan. 01, 2004 - 11:04 a.m.

Answers --- or not

Spoken at Bible Study: "It hasn't been a very good year for me, but when I think about Eternity, the bad year doesn't seem to matter much." That was 1d's testimony to Your faithfulness. Balm to a mother's heart is to see her children mature in their walk with You. We parents pray fearfully 'Whatever it takes' but only You know what it really takes and the results are always worth it.

Last nite was quiet. It always is at our house compared with outside expectations. The noise level is according to how many are here, but the program is much the same. I make Amen salsa, no-not holy salsa but the recipe is from m amen. She made it with a couple of fresh tomatoes, a small can of olives, etc. etc. I make it by the gallon. Lots of chopped canned tomatoes, a can or two of mushrooms, a can or two of olives, a bunch of green onions, a large can of chopped green chilies, a handful of chopped jalapenos, hot sauce and salt to taste and then the secret ingredients; oil and vinegar. I just keep opening cans until the big mixing bowl is full. Usually send a quart home with both boys and have some left over the next day to keep in the fridge. Then I fry up 2 or three pounds of corn tortillas, cut in eighths. Some times I shake some in a mix of cinnamon and sugar but not this year. Cheese balls, dips, crackers, meats and assorted goodies that happen along fill out the rest of the menu. This year I gathered up all the hard marshmallows, melted them in butter and poured the mix over red and green rice crispies. That is such a hard thing to make and is so appreciated that I really have to make the sacrifice more often. The banquet always includes the nog. Over 25 years ago, we were shopping in a small town grocery, and a man buying eggnog casually gave us this recipe. A half gallon of vanilla ice cream, a quart of egg nog and a large bottle of 7 up. I usually make half at a time which fills the cut glass punchbowl. That keeps the nog cold and little chunks of icecream float around. I like a few ice cubes in my cup as I go. The next year after the first try, the boys pooled their money (they would each spend $2 a person on presents) and bought me the punchbowl at one of the first discount stores. The memories are as precious and delicious as the nog. 2s's girls helped me make it this year and now another generation knows.

2s and family and 2d were the only children there. 1d and d and e stayed home because of the bad roads. There may have been other reasons caused by 1d's health problems but that is ok. 3s didn't come at all for Christmas or New Years. He came down Saturday and stayed overnite. He drives thru 3 or 4 times a week and usually calls while he passes. He gave me Josh Groban's new CD and a bottle of White Shoulders. Last year he gave me the huge set of portable shelves behind me. 2s and girls gave me a big big can of Almond Roca. Mamma sent me some every Christmas since I left home and the first year after she died, I cried to find that one of the girls had put one under the tree. Since then, one of the children has always done that. I in turn alway buy each person, including myself, a book of Lifesavers, which is what Mamma always sent them when they were little. I tried to quit one year since some don't empty their books before the next Christmas, but such an outcry arose that I don't neglect that tradition anymore.

As usual,gifts to 800 met a mixed reception. Some get used a little, others just sit in their packaging for years and years. There was a shotgun shell reloading gizmo that was in the shop for over 20 years unused until 2s took it. Took every penny the kids and I could scrape up. Pickup gun holders and gun straps sit in their unopened packages in the office. A space heater, Brita water system, and assorted tools meet the same fate. I stopped worrying about it years ago, but think I will buy a gift certificate next year. I usually buy him something that I will use now. A toaster that will hold bagels or large cuts of homemade bread has been used often as he eats toast evry morning. This year I bought him an Uzi. It shoots plastic BBs and can rightfully use the Uzi name as it was made by the Israeli Military Company who developed the real thing. Watch out, cats!

I really should write something profound, but since I would have to copy it from something else, I won't. I would like to think of myself as a deep thinker, or homespun philosopher but I must admit that most of my thinking involves just getting from Point A to Point B in the simplest way. And even then, You have to pick me up and carry me there lots of times.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!