Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Mar. 30, 2003 - 3:40 p.m.

Alone on Sunday

Yep-that is what I said. For the first time in a long time. All the kids are either out of town or home sick, and 800 is at an estate sale 50 miles away.

Why so far, one might ask? It seems a 22 rifle the same model as his is being sold. He is hoping it has a workable sight and he can transfer it to his. His own sight broke several years ago and can't be repaired. The gun itself is a rare model and if he can get this one, the sight will be worth it. Of course then we will have another 22 with no sight, but that will be another problem. Perhaps the younger members of the family can shoot it without a sight.

I told him to start keeping a lookout for a bath tub chair and a bath tub handgrip. We are not quite at the place where we need either tool, but the time may not be far away. Taking a shower when I have just worked all night is often quite painful, but trying to get up and down from the tub can be trying sometimes also with these uncooperative knees. Getting old is unique, but the alternative is uniquer.

'Unique' is a special word among the females of this family. When it is used, we all know something is wrong but we want to be polite.

So what did my Sunday consist of? First, a very good message. Second, a satisfaction in knowing we are having our first church communion with w as pastor..it will be close (born again) instead of closed (church members only. I know that has been a real sacrifice for him, especially because of a former problem in NC, but this is scripturally closer most us believe. Being held on a Sunday evening will alleviate most of the issues he was worrying about, and it definitely wasn't worth wrangling about.

There can be church members who are about as far away as anyone can get from a relationship with You, and individual searching of one's own heart is the injunction You left for us. If that is not done, there are consequences that each alone is responsible for. Anyway the issue has been resolved for now, at least while there are so few of us.

The second thing I did was stop in at the usual chinese place and order a family style dinner to take home. I ate my share alone at the oak table while reading the Sunday paper. You know what? I was still stuffed even eating at home. I guess it is true that Chinese food fills you up faster. I ate my share of everything except for fried rice and prawns. Too much rice for one time and the one prawn I tried was just like all the ones before. The batter is good, but the meat is squishy and I just can't abide the thought of eating those little pink feet!

I got Pearl Harbour out but I am so sleepy I think I will watch it upstairs on my little TV. Being alone isn't all it is cracked up to be (by me) Maybe I had better start mending fences.

My goodness, did I just say that?

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!