Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 12, 2003 - 10:14 a.m.

A very good day

Sacajawea was very interesting, altho I am not real impressed with the new pronunciation of her name. Sounds like Chicago. Since the Lemhi Indians at Salmon, where she came from, prefer the old pronunciation also, I guess I shall stay with that. Scholars opt for the new pronunciation for 2 reasons. First, a form of the new way means Bird in Hyandot, where she was carried to by the war party that took her from Idaho. Second, the Lewis and Clark journals spell the name with a 'g' which doesn't impress me at all, knowing what kind of spelling is prevalent in most journals of the time period. In any case, she is a worthy heroine, but I think she was just doing what came naturally.

I had also taped Andre Bocelli, Homecoming and enjoyed it also. It was more modern Italian songs performed informally by him on his birthday in a restaurant in Tuscany where he was born. He has a very nice voice and is pleasant to watch, but I prefer Josh Groban, whose voice seems to flow like honey. He is so young, no telling where he may end up. It is good to know young voices are there waiting to fill the gaps the Three Tenors are leaving.

My musical tastes are as eclectic as my reading tastes. Country, classical, folk, pop and even a couple of songs by Abba. I don't like hollering and most most groups of the last 30 years seem to do alot of that, but in the midst of all the clatter, lovely pure melodies continue.

When I was a kid, I remember some odd favorites. Old Buttermilk Sky, The Old Lamplighter, Blue Velvet, When the deep purple falls over sleepy garden walls---the name escapes me right now, It's a Big Wide Wonderful World. And then...... Sh-Boom, Sh-Boom, Party Doll, That'll be the Day and on to the future. I miss that time of the forties and early fifties. Songs said something, had harmony and time, and didn't separate the generations as they do now.

800 and I were just noting the other day that people will rise up ready to fight if one dares look askance at contemporary religious music. Other really important points of Biblical doctrine will fall under the category of 'let's all love each other and have unity' but they won't allow that attitude about their music. I wonder why?

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!