Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-20 - 9:21 a.m.

Holiday plans

In a few moments, I shall go to town to do a little last minute shopping. Actually most of my shopping has been last minute shopping. Nothing momentous with months of planning and preparation, nothing that the ones I care about have been longing for, just a few objects that I hope will show I care for them.

At this time in our lives, the ones I love are blessed to live in comparative peace with adequate food and shelter, a steady income that provides necessities and even enough for an occasional luxury if our sights are set simply. None of us are seized by grandiose desires that obsess us. Most of our dreams are attainable or else are just dreams. We seem to be satisfied with the small pleasures life brings and have good health in varying degrees. That doesn't mean we have all that we want or that every day is filled with gratification. It means we all know life could be alot worse and we are all thankful for where we are this moment. Even the children have a peace and contentment that is ease to their hearts.

A calm in the storm? Perhaps.... if so, I am grateful to You for this lull. I also know You can keep us in this calm even when 'hell breaks loose.'

Does this mean we are all gloriously happy? I don't think so, but we are all accepting of our lives right now. Perhaps I am not seeing some hidden pain or grief, but if the bad is there, it murmurs in a minor key. That is a good place to be, this Christmas of 2002. I have known several full of despair and hopelessness and those I love have known them too.

Circumstances can change instantly, so I thank You once again for this time, however long it stays. You will still be with us no matter what the circumstances.

The first heavy snow of the season is falling quietly outside, our homes are warm inside, and the clothes we wear when we go out will carry that warmth with us.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!