Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-05 - 10:50 a.m.

My candle

I burn my candle at both ends.

It won't last through the night.

But oh, my friends, and ah, my foes

It gives a lovely light!

-

Emily Dickinson

-

That is definitely the story of my life the last few hours. I slept from noon to 4:30 yesterday and then fixed supper. Work called while we were eating and left a message that help was needed at 8 pm. I usually don't pay attention to such messages but since I had slept, I called back and told them I would come in 4 hours early. I took over an extremely strenuous line and stayed there the whole 12 hours. When I got home this morning, I talked 800 into going back to the plant with me for a flu shot, then over to vote, in to cash my check, and on to fill up the car with gas.

Oh my, that is about 3 times what I usually do on a work day. Voting is not rocket science for me anymore. Abortion was the litmus test for me a few years ago and I decided at that time, I would never vote Democratic again until the party changed its stance on abortion. The first time was the hardest. McGovern and Nixon. Voting against my party was hard but not voting against the man. I would have voted for a yellow-spotted dog rather than him and I guess that I did. I am rather proud to be the only person in America to have voted for Nixon. It is rather like admitting to watching TV. Makes me wonder how all those shows stay on the air since no one watches them!

I am not a very political person, but one day I decided that I had better take a stand for unborn babies. Before then, I had just taken a passive stand. Unbelievers and the wicked might kill babies, I and those of my ilk didn't. Then I reread the Dred Scott decision. The words describing the right of a slave owner over his slave were almost exactly the same as the words used by pro-abortionists about a woman's right over her unborn child. Since that time, I have used abortion as the measuring stick for my politicizing.

I guess I am a one-issue citizen.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!