Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-06 - 10:09 a.m.

Vast desertland

I am totally void of thoughts today.At this very moment, I am not very interested in anything of much import. Should I shut up? Nah, I think I will just natter on.

I was greeted by such a lovely bunch of children this morning. Let's see, there was Tyrone, the oldest, must be 5 or 6, a registered golden Persian with huge golden eyes, who has become my boy this last year. He must be clipped every summer now that he stays outside in the winter. He has always been very friendly and loving and is the only cat who isn't a stray. But he wasn't chosen. 3s traded a Jersey calf for him one winter and gave him to 1d for Christmas. When she moved into her apartment, she thought it would be better for him to stay in the country, and now that they have a house and yard in a nearby little town, she has still left him here. I am glad.

Then there is Mamacat. She looks kinda like a tabby and kinda like a lilac-point Siamese. She had a batch of kittens and then 2d had her spayed. She was wild, but has tamed down a lot. She lets me pet her now and spends time on the deck with Tyrone, but I cannot pick her up. Only 2d can do that.

Then there is Tripod. He is black and short-haired and has a back leg missing from halfway down. 2d found him and a couple of siblings under a little building in back with his leg chewed off. He likes the girls but usually can't catch them. He would let me pet him slightly when he was small, but will not let me now. However, he longs to be petted and will come for treats, but is too afraid to be touched. Only 2d can do that.

Then there is Littlegirlcat. She is black with long silky shiny hair. She is Tyrone's grand or greatgrand daughter. We had her spayed last spring. 2d trapped her in 800's big trap and took her to the vet, then spent months regaining her confidence. She loves to be petted too, but only if one is very still with one's body and only pets her back and tail. Only 2d can pick her up and even then only for a few minutes.

Finally there is Sly. He is the newcomer but may be the oldest of them all. He slunk around alot this summer, with 800 taking pot-shots at him with the bb gun and threatening worse. He is a big grizzled grey tom with white paws, chest and nose and chin. He likes the front of the garage where we park, waiting for me in the morning sun.

All of them gathered round me at the bottom of the stairs to the deck this morning for pets and compliments. There are a few more assorted felines behind the shop where 2d feeds them, a mostly white calico, a new grey female adult, and some very wild blacks. And the loose white rabbit who likes petting, 2 caged rabbits, and of course, the skunk. I fully expect to see it join the crowd for petting some day soon. Should I count the magpies? They come to eat the cat food, and often perch on the deck stair rails. I think they are the babies that left the nest early last spring and hopped around the yard. They are unafraid of us, much to the annoyance of their parents. I'll bet 2d has been petting them secretly!

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!