Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Jul. 01, 2009 - 1:30 p.m.

Memories revisited

Still true after 21 years.................

1s quit breathing 14 years ago today. TheFourth of July, Independence Day, Freedom Day. When he actually appeared in Your presence, I don't know. I guess I shall find out when I come, if I am still interested. He had been injured and lapsed into a coma days earlier and we waited in Intensive Care in the Vancouver hospital. When the Canadian medical system took matters into their own hands and turned off the ventilator, our family grieved but not without hope. We all know 1s is with You, and we all know we will join him someday. That didn't make the passing any less painful.


I didn't ask You for anything after that for several years. I wasn't angry or pouting, but I came to the realisation that I did not know what was best for me and You did. Before then, I thought nothing of asking incessantly for whatever came to mind. I didn't always receive an affirmative answer but never had any qualms about asking. I didn't quit praying when 1s died, in fact constant communication with You became a way of life for me. That is when I discovered I didn't really require 8 hours of sleep to keep going. Long nights of lying in bed, gazing out the window at the starry sky became another way of life for me.


Before, I felt no hesitation in praying for the most minute of events. 2d and I even spent many fall evenings one year watching the weather on TV and asking You to keep snow at high elevations til 800 could get done with whatever seeding needed to be completed. We even prayed snow out of Nevada one whole winter, at least in a particular area! Lost car keys, burnt rolls, gas to complete a journey, money for milk, all were items I brought to You for help.


The silent(in the matter of petitions) years were some of the richest in my 40 year relationship with You. I realize as never before that my times are in Your hands, my path is known by You, and You can order my life much better than I can. Once again, my firstborn opened new vistas for me. Redheaded boy, with green-gold eyes and brown freckles. Wide grin and total enthusiam for whatever was ahead. Here I come!!

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!