Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-12 - 10:42 a.m.

We Owe Them

Over the years, I have noticed that WWII vets don't do alot of talking about that war. Aunt Nellie's 3 boys were in that war and altho I saw pictures of them in their uniforms, I never heard any stories. Then I saw Saving Private Ryan and some of the horror of that type of battle sunk in. No wonder no one wanted to relive it in tales retold.

I got an even deeper perspective of it last week while watching a PBS program about the Navaho codetalkers, especially the ones on Iwo Jima. I have heard that name much of my life, and instantly identify the flag picture as taking place on that island, but did not know many details.

Iwo Jima is only about 8 square miles, but 22,000 Japanese soldiers were on the island in caves and tunnels. The island had to be taken by the Allies so there would be an airfield close enough to reach the enemy homeland. I don't recall how many men were launched onto the beach but when the battle was over, 26,000 American soldiers had died, and 20,000 Japanese soldiers. What a sacrifice! The statement was made that over 2 million lives were saved because of that battle. The bombing of Hiroshima and Nagasaka was accomplished because of the availability of the airfied on Iwo Jima, and the 2 million figure is estimated on how many would have died later if those bombings did not take place.

I am not sure about the reasoning, but even so, the loss of life in WWII is mind-boggling. Veteran's Day is an appropriate time to reflect on the cost of war for everyone.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!