Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-07 - 11:10 a.m.

Up and down hopes

I was so excited. For a few minutes, I thought I had found something I had been searching for a long time....the words of a song. I can remember the chorus and the tune even thought I heard it only once or twice in the early 80's when I still listened to a local Christian radio station. It finally got too californicated and I stopped but have never forgotten the song.

-

Hush, Lady Watchman, don't you cry

You know he'll never die.

He'll just walk into the arms of Jesus.

-

And tho' it hurts to see him go

Lady Watchman, don't you know

He was born to be a Watchman for the Lord.

-

I think this song was written during the years when Watchman Nee was imprisoned and no one really knew what had become of him. He was imprisoned by the Chinese government for many years and had only very sporadic contact with anyone outside. Even his wife didn't know what had become of him, and this song must have been written in reflection of that fact.

It was ironic that she died while he was still imprisoned. It would have been so easy for him to avoid prison. Just a little compromising about the church. Just a little accomodation with those who claimed to be part of the church. Just a little waffling aout matters that 'surely weren't that important'.

It will be that time for us one of these days. The cards 2 local chain grocers have instituted are only the first signs. The card must be scanned in order to receive the sale price, but the information about whatever was bought is recorded somewhere. I went along with the first store for a while, but have quit both of them when the second one started, at least as far as card use goes. One of the stores still offers some goods for sale without the card, and will even offer to scan one of the cards they have at the checkout, but that is not a sure thing, and I would hate to have put something in my basket thinking to get the sale price only to have to pay the unsale price. It is a tourist trap of the worst kind as visitors to our area must pay the high price, but who cares, they'll never be back!

2d told me a local gas-convenience store now has a card, also. I wonder how long it will be before no one can buy or sell without the card. Sounds just like Revelation, doesn't it?

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!