Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-09-04 - 10:58 a.m.

Big THANK YOU from a mommy

I have felt sad for 2d this week. She is 28 now and has probably resigned herself to a life of singleness. She is still living here at home and even tho it suits her well, there are parts that don't fit all the time. Lessons are starting this week, and she has been burnt out about them for awhile. We hadn't talked about the issue but I know my girl well and could pick up on a general feeling of malaise.

So what could I do about it? Be very perky and cheerful? Try to stay out of her way? Try to be nicer in lots of different directions? Give advice? None of those solutions seemed to be appropriate, so I asked You to give her a spark. And did You ever, and from a totally different direction than I would have looked!!

A lady from the Philharmonic Orchestra called just as she walked in the door, and asked her if she would like to play her violin with the group! The practice night and time fits right in with her fall schedule and her violin teacher who plays melody had recommended her. 2d is needed to play harmony for the orchestra. She knows she is not proficient in tone on the instrument, but she is a superb sight reader and very accurate. Those are just the qualities needed right now and she was so encouraged.

Another music man who plays with the orchestra bumped her once more about piano accompaniment for My Fair Lady. She would much rather sing but he is bringing her the music anyhow. She enjoyed meeting new people including the lady who sits next to her in the string section. She also met and remet some of the local music hoity-toities which always amuses her.

The major piece they will play this fall will be the theme from Raiders of the Lost Ark which is such big bold music. Usually they play for the community production of Handel's Messiah also. She describes herself as the 'pa-pa' part of the orchestra's 'Oom-pa-pa' and enjoyed herself immensely. She doesn't have to commit herself past December so it won't interfere with ski season. I am pleased and very grateful to You.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!