Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-25 - 10:03 a.m.

Important maxim

A casserole in the forest has no natural enemies.

Had a great family time last nite. Everything was timely and comfortable except for a few minor items. 1d brought some KFC and I made macaroni salad, baked beans and chips. Made a bundt cake and 2s came over shortly before to let 2d choose from among 5 headstall-rein sets he'd purchased on ebay for $30. Naturally she chose a tastefully discreet one with modest silver trimming, rather that the beaded ones with larger silver conchos that stood out more. He thought she would surely have chosen that kind, and if they had been the only choice, she would have been pleased to use them, but her choice is always lowkey.

My choices were like that when I was younger, even though I loved gaudy colors. Then one day I read the poem, When I Am Old, I Shall Wear Purple. It said all the things I felt and so deftly that I decided not to wait. I shall have to put that poem in here some day. Now that I have had some success with cut and paste, perhaps I shall find it on the web and transfer it.

e is watching The Rats of NIMH again. 800 and d are doing bird stuff. She and I had milk and donuts on the deck for breakfast. The back yard was just freshly sprinkled and all was lovely. I have always loved the deck so much. We threw away all the stuffed furniture that was on it this spring, including the blue velvet couch and chair we had bought in 1964 from the Goodwill store in Pasco for $12. They were both in very sad shape and having the male cats around last year was the clincher. I was not sorry to see them go. I have heard that is how you tell a redneck. Their old furniture is on the porch.

Perhaps I shall mow the lawn this afternoon. I do need to go to the library today, and pay insurance on the Lincoln. 800 was planning to use it on a trade for a pickup so I didn't renew the insurance, but he is planning to go to Portland for a niece's wedding the end of the week and I shall need to use it while he has the Marquis. I cannot get off since shutdown is the 3rd so he may go alone if he decides to go. The niece is marrying a man with children almost as old as she is and they bought a home last year where they have all been staying. Little sis has been very defensive about it, carefully explaining that daughter shares a room with soon-to-be stepdaughter and mentioned last month to us that we would be talking about that when they left.

She certainly should know by now that we do not go around casting stones. Most of us try our best to raise our children to make right choices but that is always eventually up to the individual. Our family learned long ago that we would not 'look right' regardless of which side we were on, so it would be best to just go on trying to do our best, whatever level that reached at the time. In any case, 800 feels a responsibility to show family -----I don't even know what word to use! Support, solidarity, love, compassion----pick what fits.

'The heart is deceitful above all things, who can know it?' Most of the time, I don't even know my true motives so how could anyone else. However, once in a great while, You let me get a glimpse of my true motive. I am usually surprised, not always disappointed, but surprised.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!