Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-05-27 - 11:05 a.m.

ebaymania

Just finished bidding on 3 more books for cousin Mary. Boy, it sure is fun spending other folk's money! Also looked at some Thompson Chain Reference Bibles, 4th Edition for me. Kirkbride is reprinting the 4th edition for a limited time so I could get a new one if I do it soon. I would probably pay 70-100 for one and get a largeprint version. My last one lasted 30 years and I used it all through Bible Clubs, Awanas, and other rough treatment. It might be a better buy to get a used one, and probably much less trouble through eBay.

I really tried to get used to the Scofield but I miss the chain reference. The only thing I really liked more about the Scofield was the Proper Name definitions. The footnotes were good but no better than what I could find in some of our reference books, Matthew Henry, Pentecost, Wuest, etc.

I need to do some intense studying again. Pastor asked us if we could give 5 Scripture references for our beliefs on the deity of Christ, salvation, abortion, and other things we might get involved conversationally in (LIDDI) I could probably come up with the verses, but I don't think I could give the addresses or quote them exactly.

2d and I both felt the Spirit's nudging in the study direction. I think we were supposed to get some conviction about attire but not yet. I think pressure is going to be put upon us about converting to dresses all the time. We always wear dresses Sunday and almost always Wednesday, but I have only preferences and not convictions in that area, although the principle those preferences come from is still solid. My convictions must come from You, Father, and not man. I have been places where more rigid rules, dress and otherwise, were in effect. For the most part, I and the family have been in agreement or accord. I have always felt if one is playing a certain game (school,church, etc. one must play by the rules of that particular game. Sure can't play baseball with a football) It is unusual for me to be on the 'wrong side'. Help me to walk where You lead. I agree with D L Moody. If I am going to err, let me err on the side of righteousness.

This dress issue has me thinking about culture alot. The comment was made that pastors in the West have been reluctant to tackle the dress issue and therefore a weaker brand of faith has followed in this area. I must beg to differ with that 'across the board' evaluation. This particular area is weak in the faith, but for lack of sound Biblical teaching. I come from areas where I have known Western giants of the faith, male and female. The South does not hold records in that department. In fact, one of the problems many out West saw was the make-up issue. We looked askance at the Southern practice of female painting, and thought less of them in the faith.

While still having my preferences (and ideas of what contributes to a spiritually healthy person) I learned to appreciate and fellowship with gals who thought differently. I guess that is what may have to happen in the dress thingy. In any case, Paul had some good inspired words in Romans concerning meats that can be applied. I need to look up the Schaeffer quote, 'In essential, unity, in non-essentials ------ity, in all else, liberty.

I recall a tape that ACE recommended to the upper level students in some course. It was by David Gibbs, of the Christian Law Association and was called Conviction or Preference. I really appreciated his thoughts and had one of my own after hearing him. A true conviction has several elements as far as the legal system goes, including a willingness to forfeit goods and freedom to sustain the conviction. After pondering that, I decided that many of my convictions were probably preferences but I added another element. If it is a conviction, not only I but other believers must hold to it. That gave a whole new take on what I wanted to have in my list.

Anyway, I trust You to help 2d and me in this area. Sure don't want to jump out of the frying pan of the last 25 years into the fire.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!