Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-05-21 - 10:05 a.m.

Stormy weather

It has been raining inside and outside. Outside it started about 9 last night and is still at it. Rained heavily intermittently and has never let off of a steady drizzle the rest of the time. Inside it has been raining fairly steadily for a week. Both will pass. The sun will come out and we shall wonder if it will ever rain again. You cause the rain to fall on the 'just and the unjust' and usually only You can tell the difference!

I have a small rant that been building for a while. What is it with these people who look down on shopping at Walmart and Kmart. Are they so rich they can only patronize (and I use that in every sense of the word!) little boutique-y type stores? What do they have against saving money? Is this the new one-up-manship which has replaced how many jars of veggies and fruit one canned last summer? I wonder if they feel the same way about Costco, which I have found to have areas costlier than the marts?

I'll be the first to admit that some mart items are not top of the line, but many are namebrands usually much cheaper than other stores and some of the store brands are very good and very specially priced. It is hard to find a clerk to help, but what is new?

Methinks it is a bit of class climbing by wannabes. I have known a couple of very high class people and they were people of character, dignity, refinement and manners who would never have boasted about the places they never shopped. I use Best Foods mayonnaise and Coke because I find the taste unreplaceable. If something came along cheaper, I would switch and I am not averse to trying replacements once in a while to see.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!