Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-04-30 - 12:50 p.m.

Duh

That is how I feel this week. There is too much information in my life to process right now. Plus I have been studying extra hard for the Statistical Process Control test that I shall take tonite or tomorrow. Sure hope I pass so I can get the dollar raise. I think I shall be able to remember what SPC stands for--but with my quirky memory, I had better not count my chicks before they are hatched. TA said she'd made the test very easy, but she is an amateur at test making, so we shall see. No formulas for control specs which is a relief. It is really hard to study and remember equations when thay are not an actual problem.

I think it will be mostly definitions and identification of charts and uses. Multiple choice would be nice. Essay would be better. 'Bury them with boloney' has always been my credo. Actually the test and upgrade may be moot since plant closure may be imminent. 85% of potato contracts have been cancelled locally which does not bode well for the new season. Trim said she would not mind being laid off for 6 months a year, and I feel the same way. I could live on 200 a week and no work. I could even live on 200 a week until unemployment ran out if it was the emergency extension. That would put me very close to SS benefits at 62. Of course, I would lose insurance and not have Medicare for a few years. As always, job or no, insurance or no, my times are in Your hands and I am content that it be so.

This may all be political and economical maneuvering and manipulation, so I shall be glad to get the upgrade. I really need a few more years of good wages to bring my SS to an easier level.

This is the first time I have been alone for almost a week, and that will only last til e gets here in half an hour--better hurry!! Revival meetings at FBC til Friday. Good speaker and good family music. Wife and 2 older teens sing Southern hymns at full volume. 2d says from her teaching position that is hard on the voice and slightly unmusical sounding but it is enjoyable to listen to. LIDDI! She heard Sailin' On Sunday nite (which we had wanted to work up). Last nite was The Midnite Hour which I had only seen and played in one of my song books. I think we heard it the way it was meant to be done!

I think the ambience of our church is a little off-putting to our southern visitors. You couldn't call us dead, but we are definitely reserved as far as outside appearance goes. Lots of fervour and feeling underneath, but in reaction to some of the wildfire that goes on in our area we have probably taken the other extreme. In any case, it is good for the two worlds to meet and rub off on each other. One thing that does happen here is when change happens, it is lasting.

Long ago in Fernwood, I ran into the camp phenomenon. Hot-hot-hot the week after camp, back to normal (cold) by the second youth group meeting. That is akin to the first love experience. Only You can sustain that in our hearts. I don't think the feeling is phony, just not easily sustained back in the home situation. I hope to be able to go to each service. I am d's only way there several nites and he is so eager to go.

I am so thankful You have provided him with this input at this age. The heart is empty looking for a directional filling and the enemy of our souls is so good at filling a teen's heart with his concoctions. As You become more and more real in d's life, help us adults be an encouragement not a stumbling block.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!