Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Feb. 19, 2006 - 3:48 p.m.

Just like a child again-possibly

This morning as I got ready for SS, I felt like a little girl again. I spent most of my unmarried life living in a 27 ft trailer with no plumbing. either an outhouse or a walk to a communal wash house with bathrooms. Daddy very seldom set up any kind of water system into the trailer and we usually had a bucket and dipper to drink out of and use for cooking. Baths were more complicated. Mamma washed our hair in the sink, heating pots of water and giving us a final rinse with vinegar which got all the soap out, gave me red highlites, (lil sis already had plenty) and made our hair squeaky clean. We had a white porcelain tub that was oblong with rounded corners and we could sit in it until we were in our early teens. It took several buckets to fill it. In between the tub baths, we had daily WAC (or possible) baths. Mamma called them WAC baths when we were little right after the war because of the WACs in the war who bathed with very little water. We were never allowed to call them spit baths like many in our situation did. That wasn't couth. I liked it when she called them possible baths. It tickled my funny bone when she explained how to take a possible bath. Wash as far down as possible, then wash as far up as possible, then wash possible.

The drain is now mostly working, but the hot water heater had to be turned off because it was getting too hot and hissing, so it was back to old times. I won't discuss all the details, but my hair is nice and shiny and squeaky clean.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!