Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Dec. 06, 2004 - 10:14 a.m.

Another list

These are supposed to be the top 10 quotes. Most I am familiar with, altho they may not be worded the way I am used to. There are probably many more in a top list and I would have more than likely had a different very top 10. What is most interesting to me is that almost everyone of them has a parallel in the Bible, and usually You said it better. But I have known for a long time that all truth originates from You no matter who latches on to it later. Just like math.

"It is necessary only for the good man to do nothing for evil to triumph," Edmund Burke (attributed)
"Tread softly because you tread on my dreams," William Butler Yeats, 1899
"Any man's death diminishes me, because I am involved in Mankind; And therefore never send to know for whom the bell tolls; it tolls for thee," John Donne, 1624
"Two roads diverged in a wood, and I -- I took the one less traveled by," Robert Frost, 1916
"I have a dream," Martin Luther King, 1963
"Power tends to corrupt and absolute power corrupts absolutely," Lord Acton, 1887
"To lose one parent ... may be regarded as a misfortune; to lose both looks like carelessness," Oscar Wilde, 1895
"If you can keep your head when all about you are losing theirs and blaming it on you," Rudyard Kipling, 1910
"It is a truth universally acknowledged, that a single man in possession of a good fortune, must be in want of a wife," Jane Austen, 1813
"Genius is 1 percent inspiration, 99 percent perspiration," Thomas Alva Edison, 1903

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!