Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Feb. 09, 2004 - 11:47 a.m.

Dawn Patrol-journalist

(another sane voice to save for the future-I wish I had had a place to leave a record of the sane voices in the abortion debate but maybe another time)THE FOLLOWING ENTRIES ARE NOT MINE

A few days ago, I posted a "placeholder" entry steering readers to Kevin McCullough's commentary about the Massachusetts Supreme Court's decision to compel the legislature to legalize homosexual marriages. Since then, a few friends have written to ask me to clarify my own admittedly strong views on homosexual marriage and homosexuality in general.

I have had close homosexual friends in my life, and I'm currently casual friends with several people who are homosexual. My all-time favorite record producer was a homosexual-leaning bisexual, and, in the course of my work as a music journalist, I have met other homosexual recording artists and songwriters whose music changed my life.

As I write this now, I am trying to imagine what my homosexual friends and people I admire will think upon reading it. I would like them to know that I love them and care about them, and that my feelings about their behavior do not prevent me from appreciating them as human beings.

My opinions about homosexuality have changed greatly from when I was a college student and believed it was an odd-seeming but perfectly acceptable behavior. Although I feel certain about the foundation of my current beliefs, I would not be surprised if the details of my perspective were to change further over time. I do believe it's important to keep an open mind�not to compromise one's beliefs, but to become more understanding of those with whom one differs.

Here are a few things that I believe:

Both the Hebrew Bible and the New Testament state unequivocally that homosexuality is a sin. Without citing chapter and verse (though I'll do so upon request), I'll just say that for me, as one who believes that the Bible is the living word of God, that is a powerful argument against the concept of homosexuality as an acceptable norm.

As with all sins since the Fall, the sinfulness of homosexuality stems from mankind's separation from God. In other words, I believe that an active homosexual lifestyle is outside of God's will.

Jesus is the propitiation for all sins. I believe that Jesus is "the Lamb of God which takes away the sins of the world." He freely gives strength to overcome temptation of every kind. He has done this and still does it for me, and I believe He will do this for everyone who seek Him in spirit and in truth.

Homosexuality goes against nature. I remember when I first heard the "goes against nature" argument, from a Catholic friend with whom I went to high school. It seemed ridiculous to me. I thought, what's wrong with going against nature? Human beings do plenty of things with their bodies that they're not built to do.

Today, I realize that the argument's simplicity has great force. Our bodies and brains are so engineered for male-female coupling that the idea of doing something counter to that seems as wrong as trying to make a sunflower grow underground.

Homosexuality is, to some significant degree, a lifestyle choice. Simple observation shows this. In the New York City area, where I live, and probably elsewhere in the country, it is common to know someone who has been heterosexual and then had a homosexual involvement�or vice versa. This phenomenon is reflected in pop-culture expressions like "LUGs" ("Lesbians Until Graduation"). There is also a growing body of evidence from Christian groups such as Homosexuals Anonymous that homosexuals can change.

BUT...

The exact degree to which homosexuality is a choice remains unknown. When I ask my homosexual friends about their sexuality, even if they have not always been homosexual, they say that their attraction to the same sex feels natural�not like a choice. Although part of me feels that the source of their feelings of attraction lies in their spiritual and mental perspective, and not in their biology, the truth is that I don't know, so I cannot judge the validity of their experience.

The idea of a "gay gene," however, is ridiculous to me. Scientists are now racing to discover such a gene, in hope that it might give validity to the claim that homosexuality is a normative lifestyle. But the nature of genes is that they are passed down through heredity. A "gay gene" could not be passed down, because the people having it would not have children.

My faith tells me not to judge.

What does it mean not to judge?

For one thing, it means not to assume what's in another person's heart. It also means not to presume to know what God is or is not going to do to that person.

But I see another meaning in not judging. To judge someone implies writing them off�consigning them to their fate. That's easy. What's harder is to not judge them, but to instead show genuine love and concern for them, listening to them, and sharing God's word with them.

When topics like gay marriage reach the forefront of public debate, there is a serious danger that Jews' and Christians' message of love may be lost in the rhetoric. I believe that it is important to remember, however strongly one feels about the issue, that some of those who are pushing for gay marriage are looking for a way to express their love for one another in a manner that has spiritual meaning for them. Where there are people seeking such meaning, it is imperative that religious groups, while not neglecting their own principles, nevertheless demonstrate compassion and understanding for them.

I don't have an easy answer for how people who feel certain of their homosexuality should live. I know a loving homosexual couple that I believe is monogamous and has been so for years. I would not want to approach them and tell them they could not share a bed because it goes against God's will.

But then, I also wouldn't want to tell someone who was seriously ill that he couldn't have sex with his girlfriend because they're not married. Or tell a single woman like myself that she should refrain from sex until she finds a husband, even though she could easily find an attractive single male who could manage to treat her with the proverbial "respect" for one night.

None of those situations are morally right. They all result from the Fall�from man's being unable or unwilling to wait on the Lord.

But while I may feel uncomfortable arguing to others that they should resist temptation, I strongly oppose inviting temptation by providing a legal basis for people to justify moral choices that I believe are wrong. That is why I oppose homosexual marriage�or any marriage that is not entered into by one man and one woman with the hope and intention that it be for life.

THE PRECEDING ENTRIES ARE NOT MINE

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!