Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Nov. 24, 2003 - 9:24 a.m.

Shadow of Doom

In 1997, when the plant laid off one third of its work force, I bid on a relief lab job out in Raw Receiving. As we entered winter, breaks became uncomfortable unless one went upstairs or a block away to the cafeteria. If I was working with another tech, they took their breaks on a bench right outside the door where they could smoke and listen for the phone. There was a pillow and blanket in the supply closet to alleviate the cold a bit, but one tech had the perfect solution. She still had one of those long lavender quilted parkas that looked like a walking sleeping bag. They had been popular in the eighties and I still saw gals wear them who either had them in their closets or picked them up at thrift stores and yard sales. As the cold weather approached, 800 and I were at Walmart and I picked out a shorter beige parka with hood as his Christmas present to me. I was torn between it and a navy blue nylon one with hood that came almost to my ankles. Utility and looks won out, tho. The navy blue one was really a plain jane and wouldn't be used except very cold nights. When Christmas came, both coats were in my package. 800 had snuck back and purchased the long one, too! I got out my painting markers and put yellow daisies and green leaves and vines around the hood, cuffs and down the front. I only wore it a few times each winter to work or to church but it was so cozy.

Early this morning, I awoke, made beds, and sat down for a cup of cocoa. Wanting to read the paper and not wanting to get dressed yet, I drug the long coat out of the closet, fastened it and put up the hood and started out for the paper box. The vicious wind blew the ends of the coat out and the mercury yard light cast an eerie light. I was horrified to see a giant spectre floating front of me! Darth Vader and Gandalf with their billowing cloaks couldn't hold a candle to this ominous figure. It took me a few seconds to recognize my own shadow and you can bet I scurried the rest of the way to the edge of the road and back again to the safety of the kitchen!

As I washed the dishes and watched the news on the little TV I was struck by the furor raised by those indignant at the FBI's desire to identify those at the various war protest marches. Where were all these indignant voices after the Ruby Ridge and Branch Davidian events when Janet Reno was writing down my name for homeschooling children, attending fundamental churches and using the Bible as a guide for life? It's always funny to me that liberals think doors only swing one way. In some instances, they are more conservative than the conservatives.

I am seriously considering buying a Lexmark scanner, copier, printer, Fax machine. It is only $60 at Walmart. Two folks I know have already got one and love it. It is for Windows 98 and newer and I couldn't use it til I get my new computer but that will be in just a little while and I am afraid people will realize what a buy this is and cause the price to change. I'll give my old setup to 1d. The computer and scanner are adequate for what her family will be doing for a long while and the HP printer is still usable. It just has to be babied along.

Here's a cute email Josie sent:

HOW TO STAY YOUNG

1. Throw out nonessential numbers. This includes age, weight and height. Let the doctor worry about them. That is why you pay him/her.

2. Keep only cheerful friends. The grouches pull you down.

3. Keep learning. Learn more about the computer, crafts, gardening, whatever. Never let the brain idle. " An idle mind is the devil's workshop." And the devil's name is Alzheimer's.

4. Enjoy the simple things.

5. Laugh often, long and loud. Laugh until you gasp for breath.

6. The tears happen. Endure, grieve, and move on. The only person who is with us our entire life, is ourselves. Be ALIVE while you are alive.

7. Surround yourself with what you love, whether it's family, pets, keepsakes, music, plants, hobbies, whatever. Your home is your refuge.

8. Cherish your health: If it is good, preserve it. If it is unstable, improve it. If it is beyond what you can improve, get help.

9. Don't take guilt trips. Take a trip to the mall, to the next county, to a foreign country, but NOT to where the guilt is.

10. Tell the people you love that you love them, at every opportunity.

AND ALWAYS REMEMBER: Life is not measured by the number of breaths we take, but by the moments that take our breath away.

If you don't send this to at least 8 people.... who cares?

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!