Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Oct. 01, 2003 - 10:45 a.m.

Older than dirt.

>"Hey Dad," one of my kids asked the other day, "What was your favorite

fast

>food when you were growing up?"

>

>"We didn't have fast food when I was growing up," I informed him. "All

the

>food was slow."

>

>"C'mon, seriously. Where did you eat?"

>

>"It was a place called 'at home," I explained. "Grandma cooked every

day

>and when Grandpa got home from work, we sat down together at the

kitchen

>table, and if I didn't like what she put on my plate I was allowed to

sit

>there until I did like it."

>

>By this time, the kid was laughing so hard I was afraid he was going

to

>suffer serious internal damage, so I didn't tell him the part about

how I

>had to have permission to leave the table.

>

>But here are some other things I would have told him about my

childhood if

>I figured his system could have handled it:

>

>Some parents NEVER owned their own house, wore Levis, set foot on a

golf

>course, traveled out of the country or had a credit card. In their

later

>years some city folks had something called a revolving charge card.

The

>card was good only at Sears Roebuck.... Or maybe it was Sears AND

Roebuck.

>

>Either way, there is no Roebuck anymore. Maybe he died.

>

>My parents never drove me to soccer practice. This was mostly because

we

>never had heard of soccer.

>My sister had a bicycle that weighed probably 50 pounds, and only had

one

>speed, (slow).

>

>We didn't have a television in our house until I was 7, but my

grandparents

>had one before that. It was, of course, black and white, but they

bought a

>piece of colored plastic to cover the screen. The top third was blue,

like

>the sky, and the bottom third was green, like grass. The middle third

was

>red. It was perfect for programs that had scenes of fire trucks

riding

>across someone's lawn on a sunny day. Some people had a lens taped to

the

>front of the TV to make the picture look larger.

>

>I was 13 before I tasted my first pizza, it was called "pizza pie."

When I

>bit into it, I burned the roof of my mouth and the cheese slid off,

swung

>down, plastered itself against my chin and burned that, too. It's

still the

>best pizza I ever had. Pizzas were not delivered to our home, but milk

and

>bread were. We even had the Raleigh man bring kitchen wares if mom

'needed'

>them. The doctor came to our house 4 weeks after my hernia operation

to say

>that I could now go outside and ride my sister's bike, but to be

careful. I

>rode it for 2 days straight.

>

>I never had a telephone in my room. The first phone I remember had a

crank

>and we didn't answer it if it had a single ring, or 2 short rings, or

a

>long and a short ring. We only answered if it had 2 long rings. I

remember

>the day when that crank wall phone was replaced by one with a dial. It

>still was the only phone in the house, in the dining room, and it

still was

>on a party line. Before you could dial, you had to listen and make

sure

>some people you didn't know weren't already using the line.

>

>Movie stars kissed with their mouths shut. Touching someone else's

tongue

>with yours was called French kissing and they didn't do that in

movies. I

>don't know what they did in French movies.

>

>If you grew up in a generation before there was fast food, you may

want to

>share some of these memories with your children or grandchildren. Just

>don't blame me if they bust a gut laughing. Growing up isn't what it

used

>to be, is it?

>

>Last week I went to an auction and they held up old Royal Crown Cola

>bottle. In the bottle top was a stopper with a bunch of holes in it.

>

>I knew immediately what it was, but a lady beside me had no idea. She

>thought they had tried to make it a salt shaker or something.

>I knew it as a bottle that sat on the end of the ironing board to

>"sprinkle" clothes because they didn't have steam irons or permanent

press

>clothes.

>

>Man, I am old.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!