Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2003-02-11 - 11:55 a.m.

Cool and mellow

High Flight

Oh! I have slipped the surly bonds of earth

And danced the skies on laughter-silvered wings;

Sunward I've climbed, and joined the tumbling mirth

Of sun-split clouds - and done a hundred things

You have not dreamed of - wheeled and soared and swung

High in the sunlit silence. Hov'ring there,

I've chased the shouting wind along, and flung

My eager craft through footless halls of air.

Up, up the long, delirious, burning blue

I've topped the wind-swept heights with easy grace

Where never lark, or even eagle flew -

And, while with silent lifting mind I've trod

The high untrespassed sanctity of space,

Put out my hand and touched the face of God.

John Gillespie Magee, Jr.

-----

-

Being an October baby, I could almost believe the astrological birthday descriptions of Libra-the balancing scales- when I consider that the same person who really loves the lofty ideals in the poem above also really appreciates the earthy sentiments expressed in the February 11,2003 thoughts here.

Another thought that occurred to me while surfing this morning. A day is coming soon when "EVERY knee shall bow" and "EVERY tongue confess that Jesus Christ is Lord, to the glory of God the Father." Some of us will bow willingly and lovingly. Some of us will bow with hatred and clenched teeth. But we WILL bow and we WILL confess. You can count on it.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!