Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-12-28 - 1:27 p.m.

The 'Irish' is up

Nothing like a good rousing search on the internet about the digital camera to drive away the blahs!! I am determined to get that durn thang running. I have a 25 hole serial port on the back of the computer, and a doodad that converts a 25 pin to a 9 pin, and a cable that has a 9 pin end and an end that fits in the camera. NOW, WHAT IS WRONG????

When I hook everything up, the computer software says 'no camera is there' or words to that effect. There has to be some little button I am not pushing. Windows for Dummies (yup, that are I) says in regards to hooking up a mouse, that only 2 COM ports can be used at at time. That may be one of the problems. I did hook up the camera directly into the 9 pin port by taking out the mouse. That is not an ideal solution because I have to pull out the tower each time I switch between mouse and camera and the software still said "no camera is hooked up".

I want that 25 to 9 gizmo to work and I know it has to. Treeheart hooked one up to her computer and I am sure she had no fancier equipment than I. This feels exactly like 20 years ago when I was tryng to hook up an electric guitar to a record player, tape player combo with speakers. I knew it could be done. 2s told me one of his buddies at Lackland had done it to this very sound system. So I went to one music store after another. No way, no how they all assured me. I would have to buy one of their amplifiers for hndreds of dollars. I had only paid $25 for the guitar and barely could afford that so I knew an amp was out of the question. Finally I ran into a helpful Radio Shack salesman who was willing to find attachments that looked like they would fit. It worked the first try! That is how I played it for years until I bought a small used amp for $50.

I also remember hooking up a mike to one of the portable tape players we had, a big GE 2s brought home from the service, but how I did that is now lost in the pages of antiquity. The hookup holes looked much like the same ones on the guitar and I had visions of using it for a portable amp. Somewhere along that line I got sidetracked.

Anyway, I know this camera thingummy has to work, I just have to keep worrying it like a dog with a bone. Wonder if I should pray about it?---nah, lots more fun to fret and stew and beat my head on the mousepad.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!