Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-11-23 - 9:42 a.m.

I can't believe it!!

Had a cortisone shot yesterday, and when I got down from the table, almost all the pain was gone and I could walk. Of course, the initial medication was a freezing agent that immediately helped but even this morning I walk on both legs. The xrays showed most damage was arthritic and infalmed, which I never believed could come on so suddenly and painfully. The only other shot like this I had was on the torn meniscus and that one didn't do anything. I have heard the amount of these shots one can have is limited. I must do some research on this, as the doctor seemed to think I could have a certain amount in a certain length of time.

He also gave me some Vioxx samples which may be helping also. I have 6 one a day pills and I may have a prescription when I go in Tuesday. Anyway, I am going back to work tonite, with a walking restriction, so I don't know where I will be yet. If I am in a no-brainer position, I think I will take this opportunity to learn some bigger portions of Scripture, or an assortment of verses on the same subject. I can quote lots and lots of Scripture, but usually not word for word and usually without an address, only a general location. Don't know if I will even be able to work, in which case I think I will have done myself out of 3 days of medical pay, but there is a good chance I can work, and my pay is so much more than medical that it is a chance worth taking. I will not hesitate to ask for more time off if necessary. Deciding to ask is not even an option. If the pain recurs, it is impossible to walk.

There was qute a bit of information about Vioxx with the samples, especially how long before it starts working, how long to build up appropriate levels, how effective various doses are, how they compare with naproxen and ibuprofen and the side effects. The only side effect I shall be concerned with is hypertension, and cardiac involvement. I have little cardiac history in my family but do have hypertension. One 25 mg of Vioxx has the same results as 3 daily doses of 800 mg of both the other NSAIDS. That is fairly impressive. It also said that there is no significant diffence in relief between 25 and 50 mg doses. Also noted the testers took up to 8000mg a dose without any overdosage signs.

I wonder if anyone, even the doctor, ever reads those papers, six small print columns, 10 inches high, both sides of paper, chemical structure diagram included. Took me at least 45 minutes and that was just skimming.

I also bought a knee brace, and made an orthopedic appointment for Dec. 4. This will be on my personal insurance unless the surgeon finds a work connection which is very possible. Then I will have to fight with the company's own workman's comp department for coverage. Maybe not, I guess I will just trust You for that.

I feel so much better that I am going in to buy some Thanksgiving groceries and go to the library. That is a far cry from Tuesday when a cancelled Thanksgiving (at least with my participation) was in consideration. I have had such trouble sleeping and not working that each day has seemed like two. This is the longest week I have had in a long time. Just like a kid at Christmas. The days dragged or, at least, were easy to turn into double.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!