Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-16 - 10:06 a.m.

The sound of silence

2d has gone to work for the day, 800 has gone hunting for the day, 1d may be working but if so has taken e to daycare. I am alone! Except for

Trixie, but that is almost like being alone. Once in a while, she emerges from whatever cat hideaway she has found, often under the fringe of my bedspread, and complains loudly that 2d is nowhere to be found, and then she disappears again.

Once in a very long while, she will jump upon my bed and sleep between my legs or against my side, but only if I am very still and pay no attention to her. It's not that she doesn't like me or is afraid that I will hurt her or scold her. She has very little room in her world for anyone but 2d.

2d found her at work, hiding among the wooden pallets and boxes at the side of the bearing store. She and another larger kitten had evidently been abandoned. The larger kitten was in good shape and ran swiftly away. Trixie was just a rack of little bones and could not escape from this large monster who took her away to its cage. Actually 2d brought her home and kept her in her bedroom for several weeks until she was strong enough to walk again.Trixie was very afraid of even 2d and hid among the feminine possessions that furnish the room.

Eventually 2d won her over, and even more eventually, Trixie emerged to live with the rest of the family. She fell in love with Tyrone the handsome young golden Persian and they married and had 3 children. Soon after, they were both medically convinced that a celibate life was best, but they are still good buddies. Trixie ventures outside occasionally for short periods of time, once or twice a day. She even deigns to lie on the arm of the couch, or accept tidbits from 800 at the dinner table, altho she oftens just sniffs the offerings and leaves them. She never asks me for a tasty morsel. I am only good to lie on when her feet are cold, and only until they warm up.

She has grown up with many evidences of the deprived life she lived as a youngster. She eats bugs (that must have been a staple in the summer days before 2d rescued her in late fall), she dips her paw in pools, glasses and bowls of water rather than lapping liquid with her tongue, probably because she could only get water from pipes and jars around the bearing yard. She also can entertain herself for long times with only a crumpled up piece of paper, obviously having been deprived of more sophisticated toys in her childhood.

She is one of our more interesting pets and I enjoy her even when she is being her most standoffish. She reminds me of me. 2d rescued me, too.

------------------------------------

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!