Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-09 - 10:16 a.m.

Delightful day

I had a delightful day, full of little serendipities, and today looks to be more of the same.

I had a very sweet brief hug from e as a birthday greeting, a big box of fallish resin figures from 1d,d and e to go with the figures they gave me last year, another present from 2d as we ate lunch at pickwick's. She had given me a denim jumper from Coldwater Creek that has embroidery around the bib and hem on Sunday then showed up at the restaurant with a fluted cut glass bowl she had bought at the Rusty place. She had told the owner she would be in to buy her mother a present and even tho she had bought the jumper, didn't want to break her word. What a precious gift she is and always has been! Rusty is where she bought the Evesham china for my Christmas present.

Lunch was delicious. 1d ordered an onion flower as an appetizer while we waited for 2d. I could have made a meal just on that and Coke. She ordered a Reuben, I a BLT, 2d a bowl of

French onion soup (was served in a little crock with brown bread and baked cheese on top), and e, a 4 cheese macaroni dish with big macaronis. It was all good. I drank 3 glasses of Coke!( free refills) Fountain Coke is so good.

I love my girls so much, and not just for what they do for me. In fact, I always feel guilty when they smother me with good things. There are so many ways I could have done better by them. I could wish for them more normal ordinary circumstances but I have learned over the years that what looks normal and ordinary often masks far worse ways than the way the girls have before them. That is a part of life that I must leave up to You. You know the paths we each must take to lead us to maturity.

I am pretty sure I am not going to bid on the team lead positions, even for the fun of taking the tests. They are very secretive about the tests, even to taking away positions of people who have revealed information about the tests but enough has leaked out that I think the tests are of the mind-game sort with scenarios to choose from that will show whether a person lines up with whatever objective the bosses have. I am confident I would pass the tests and then I would have to decide whether or not to accept the job. I have an uneasy feeling about the situation, so I think I shall just stay where I am. The Peter Principle may be kicking in.

I have often reflected about the Peter Principle. It seems to me to be 'each person rises to their own level of ineptitude. I am sure that is not what Mr. Peter intended when he laid forth the Principle but it does seem to work out that way . The idea is that one will rise from position to position, each time more qualified than the position he is in---until the last one. In that position, he is underqualified. But there he stays, unable to perform to peak because he was advanced just one level too high. No wonder government is in such a mess! Every one needs to be demoted one level, then what accomplishments we would see!!!

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!