Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-10-08 - 10:18 a.m.

Loud singing

Happy birthday to me, happy birthday to me, happy birthday, happy birthday, happy birthday to meeeeeeeee!!

I am 61 today. At least I think it is today. Someyears 800 tries to convince me (as he is convinced) that it is the 10th, but I am pretty sure today is it. 61 doesn't shock me since I have been claiming it for a year now. Shall I start today saying I am almost 62 or shall I wait til tomorrow? 62!! Wow, early retirement. Do I want to do that? I don't think so. In fact, I am seriously thinking of putting in a bid for lab team leader for a $2.50 an hour raise.

2s said I absolutely must get the job since the higher wages the last years before I retire will affect my SS, significantly, but I am not sure only 1and a half or 2 years will change it that much.

800 has no objections either, inspite of the overtime I would have to serve ( is that 'serve' as in prison sentence?) One good thing is I would not be tied down to the half hour schedule with so much walking. Probably lots of computer work and paper work, both of which I like. All of the current lab leads are on strike against bidding for the team leader jobs since it will turn most of the quality decisions over to production. There is not much one could do to hurt a plant that only has a short time left so a new plan may as well be tried out. I shall see how I feel about turning in the bid in the morning.

1d and 2d are taking me out to pickwick's for a late lunch today. It is a new restaurant that has been a rundown bar for decades. A local yuppie bought it, stripped it down to reveal what was left of its former glory and then renovated it, complete with chef and very expensive menu for thistown. I wonder how much crackers and water cost?

800 raised such a fuss last year about having birthdays on days not one's birthday that I tried to do something different, but that didn't work well. 2s only has his girls on alternate weekends and if we don't do their birthday, he feels the loss. So back we went to birthdays on the Sunday that is close with whoever can be there. 2d decided she would take folks out for lunch and we could take her. Whatever.

I think in all the fooling around, 800 may have learned to keep his nose out of the female side of homemaking. For sure I learned to stick to my guns and not take on guilt trips I don't want. I thought I learned that several years ago, but it may be under the heading of continuous education.

I have come to think we all create our own monsters who will take over just as much territory as we will allow. Often, tho, it is hard to differentiate between monster-creating and trouble-avoiding. I prefer to take the safest route mostly and deal with the monsters as they growl. An unsubmissive spirit can create pretty impressive monsters all by itself.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!