Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-26 - 3:13 p.m.

Gramma sitting

Yes, e is gramma sitting me. We are getting along much better now that she has grown a little older and is thinking about things. I made big points by baking her a birthday cake after they all got home from her birthday camping trip. 2d said even with all the sspecial things they did, e kept asking where the cake was.

Her latest video is Wild Hearts Can't Be Broken. She has watched it twice today already. Maybe another horse lover like me? My old cousin in Hawaii sent me a copy of the book she wrote about our family. I sat down at the kitchen table and read it that day. How much was true and how much was fiction is up for question. But Aunt Brick's love of horses was mentioned often. My dad's love of books was also mentioned. Cousin mentioned time after time Daddy's neglect by his mother. Her mother and another big sis gave him most of the care he got. If that is true, it explains alot about his attitude about us. It is hard to love when you never learned how. But that also may be a genetic trait that is passed down. Not a lack of loving, but an inability to convey the love.

1d and d and e, 2d and I all went to tf Saturday at 3. Had several wonderful hours of shopping and spent all that was left of my paycheck. Fun things at Costco like Gorgonzola cheese, hard salami, and mushrooms. Exciting things like the sequel to Dances With Wolves, and all of Jane Austen's book in one volume. Good buys on groceries at the discount place. And special outfits for me at the Bon. I needed to upgrade my closet a bit. I realized that at a recent spate of funerals. Still looking for a special outfit to wear for funerals.

I was so sleepy yesterday after church and dinner that I only read a few journals and went to bed. Woke at 3am and watched the things I had taped last week. Another episode on the Skeleton coast was enthralling. I never dreamed I would get to see more about that faroff place, but perhaps once my imagination was captured, I just started noticing items about it. 2d went to evening church. I enjoyed the 2 times I went during layoff, but I think she needs some social time when Mom is not around.

We were going to sing the Lighthouse for a special since she didn't have one scheduled but one of the young girls had one she wanted to do so we will save ours. I haven't sang that song for many years, and usually accompanied myself with the guitar. 2d played the piano and sang the alto above the melody and I sang the melody as we ran through it a couple of times before church. It went well and she will have a backup special in emergencies now.

She is setting up her fall schedule for piano and voice lessons and the phone rings much every day for new clients. I think she could probably make a full time career of teaching music, but I would hate to see her do it. Very confining at her age. Last year she did not have any super stars and felt a little discouraged. Most students these days do not practice consistently and do not advance very well unless they have a lot of natural talent and a love for music. The lackadaisical ones are always the majority of the group but do not give much satisfaction to the teacher. It is very easy to burnout when working with children in whatever area. I remember Mrs. V telling me years ago that one reason for burnout is that children are takers and do not give much back. If one is aware of that and prepared for the lack, then burnout does not occur as often or as bad.

I am now boring even myself. Better get to work.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!