Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-08-03 - 3:46 p.m.

A Special Language

I suppose every family has special words invented over the course of years. I was thinking of the ones added by kdip children in the last 40 years. The most recent ones have been added by e. Fwavoritist is used often by e to describe anything she likes, and lasterday is whatever didn't take place today.

Onomatopoietic words appeared often when 1s and 2s were very little. After that the littles learned to speak from the big ones and didn't introduce new words. 1s called water 'wadi' and as we would travel by the dryland wheat farms on the way to Grandma's house, he would get all excited when he saw 'jing-jangs', the large windmills still scattered over the countryside. When 2s came along, rain on the car windows always called his attention to the 'lamph-lomphs' as they busily wiped the car windows clear of water.

Years of eating 'hangerbers' and taking out the 'grabage' passed swiftly and now those words live only in my memory.

The next generation is busy making memories, also. 3s came down with his pickup hauling the old blue 4x4 he bought years ago from 800. 2s lost the transmission in his new Dodge Ram and while we loaned him the Lincoln for transportation, he needed somethng to haul a horse trailer with, so he'll use the blue one for a while. 3s and 2d went golfing this morning, then 2s joined up with them over there. Later on 1d found them and left d with them before she went to work. All of the non-working tribe are busy loading her brakeless second car on the now empty trailer. One of her brothers is going to put new brakes on it for her. Son they will be home for supper.

It gives me such joy and pleasure to see them happy together. Even tho not one of them has a traditional family, they have each other as close as an individual family. I miss each one of their company but the siblings are going to be around alot longer than the parents and the bond must be strong.

They have squabbled very little among themselves thanks to 800's absolute refusal to tolerate that. I remember him standing on the sidelines in the front yard as 1s and 2s fought in their teens. As each one got tired, they faced Dad's anger at the edge, and his threatening words to 'get back there and fight!' When they were heartsick and bloody, he let them quit. Once only and never again, a lesson well learned, but also a link forged. Them agin us!!!

They have guarded each other's secrets and helped each other out in ways I probably don't even know of. 2d didn't get to be part of that for a long time, and cherishes those times now.

Here is where I go each morning to greet the day ---O WOW, it worked again!!!! Thanks again,guy!!!! I really don't know how the underline got there. I just did what you told me to!!

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!