Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-07-15 - 3:47 p.m.

A death in the (church)family

Dennis h died this morning. He was in his 50's, but diabetic, overweight and worrying about being jobless quite awhile. He is with You now, which is far better. We will miss him in our church family, but some circumstances may have caused a departure anyway. His wife and g are best friends now, with lots of sympathizing about the big d. Slowly over the last few months with g getting more and more bitter and alienated, the mrs has withdrawn also, and naturally the mr has too.

2d has been asked to play for the funeral which will be held at a mortuary and led by a former pastor. I hope w will not construe that as an insult, even if it is meant to be. Death is a hard blow even to believers, and those left behind must be allowed to do what is comforting to them,even when others may not understand.

800 and I went to tf this morning and bought an air-conditioner, 12,000 BTU's. It is in the bedroom window and hopefully will cool the whole house. If not, we will try to find a small one that will fit in the living room window and run both when needed. We looked first in Home Depot, the first time I have ever been in one. Saw some screen doors at very reasonable prices and may get one for both sides. Could not have hauled them in the Marquis so didn't bother about getting them today.

The weather is still very hot, and miserable, but I am so glad to have a cool place to sleep. The last night at work, I was worn out before ever getting there and the heat all night in the labs was draining.

Spirits are low in the hot weather. It seems as if optimism and joy drain out with the heat. I find that I have to keep a conscious control on my tongue and attitudes so that I am not cranky. It is easy to be unkind when one is uncomfortable. Even when others are ignorant, unkindness is never a proper response. Help me to be loving and gentle.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!