Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-06-10 - 10:03 a.m.

Satisfying Sundays

Yesterday was the first good Sunday in several weeks. I have been concerned with our pastor's feelings about female attire. We are going through Proverbs and in the 7th chapter, the simple man without understanding sees a woman dressed in the attire of a harlot. Then we had a diversion while the wearing of pants was discussed. 2d and I have known of the discomfort felt because of different attire East and West. We 2 had discussed it many years ago when she was planning to go to a southern Bible school.

I warned her they would be shocked at the fact that she wore pants on certain occasions and she would be shocked to see them painted very heavily. Both sides would perhaps have to re-evaluate their thinking. This is where the issue of conviction and preference comes in. Overriding all else is what the Scriptures have to say. Sorry, but my understanding of a passage in Deut. or Lev. concerning men or women trying to look like the other sex does not necessarily eliminate pants on women. And 'abomination' is not a term I would throw around loosely in the situation.

As a woman I try to dress appropriately for the occasion and the climate and the view I wish to present. I am very familiar with how to attire oneself as a harlot. If you want to catch fish, you have to use bait. Some bait works, some doesn't. Some works that one wishes later didn't. Learning comes with wisdom, experience, or age. There is also a certain respect to convey at certain times. We wear dresses to church because we want to show respect to the One we adore. But if we didn't have dresses, we would be ok.

There are lots and lots of rationalizations that can take place on both sides. But I am tired of it all. End of story. 'Great peace have they which love thy law and nothing shall offend them.'

I have a whole pot full of ugly tomatoes springing up. I look forward to seeing what they do. The picture shows mottled army green and orange-red misshapen globes--ugly tomato certainly is an apt description. They come from the Crimea which leads me to wonder if that region may be where tomatoes come from. I can well imagine that they are a plant from the middle east. Cucumbers are from there, also. A voluntary migration would have been stopped by the mountain ranges that separate Europe from Asia. Perhaps they could have spread from lower down around the Mediterranean and up, but they are probably an import brought back by travellers.

I have an immense library at my fingertips to look this up, but I am now tired of this subject, also.

It is cool today and I may not get to mow the lawn. Some one has bought the place next door and is cleaning up shaggy trees and scraggly lawn. I hope we can be good neighbors. However, I heard an old saying, 'Good fences make good neighbors' which is probably far truer than we would like to think. The grandgirls are supposed to be over today and tomorrow but it is getting late and they may have made other plans for today. They were over yesterday with their dad for dinner. We had pork chops, potatoes and pan gravy, asparagus with lemon-mayonnaise sauce, and cinnamon-sugar cooked apple slices.

A good time was had by all.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!