Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-02-19 - 9:44 a.m.

Pharaoh's butler

Pharaoh's butler---------------

-

I do remember my faults this day. Like the butler in Genesis, I forgot something important. His memory lapse hurt Joseph, mine will hurt my pocketbook.

I have been thinking for some days now that my library books were due around the 24th, but did I look? No, not even tho the box with the books is tucked under the waterbed right beneath my head and I see it every time I lie down or get up. O no, I just ignore it even tho I took a book out only the day before to read. This is going to cost me big bucks, ten cents a day per book and I have 11 books and they were due the fifteenth. O it hurts!! I am certainly glad I didn't check out the usual 20 or so.

I dread going to town anymore, especially during the day. I like to take my time at the library, the grocery store, and the mart, if I go to one, and it usually ends up I am gone 4 or 5 hours. Then comes the third degree. I guess I should be glad I am a 60 year old sex object and am wantonly desired by all having the right chromosome ( at 60, I no longer remember whether it is X or Y)

Anyway, I shall pay today for my dilatory habits. I still have one book of the bunch that I wanted to read, so I should have renewed them days ago. It is Under the Tuscan Sun or some such title. A journal with observations and recipes of a lady who spent time in Tuscany. Not my usual fare, but I always enjoyed reading v's Bon Appetit. The flavor of the regions, not necessarily the flavor of the recipes is what held my attentions. I watched the 4 part video A Year in Provence from the library several years ago and while it dragged in a few places, I enjoyed it. The segment on hunting truffles was very intriguing. The whole episode reminded me of hunting wild morel mushrooms around Fernwood, except with four small children instead of a pig.

That was a good time in my life. Hunting mushrooms and huckleberries. Crystal Peak was 6000 feet high and I could look out the new bedroom window of the parsonage and see it clearly. It is hard to believe we are around 5000 feet high right here on the flat and the mountain I look at from the deck stairs as I leave the house is much higher than Crystal. A trip to the top of Crystal was a day long event, that we took when we had company and always in the summer. 2d travels to the top of this new peak 3 or 4 times a week in the middle of winter and it takes little more than half an hour.

I think that mountain is precious to her. She started going up there as a baby when the church would meet halfway up for tubing in the winter. Then we went up for six weeks a season all her school days for the ski program, and now she goes herself as she teaches in the ski school. She was asked last week to take a further step teaching at ski resorts all over this area at the clinic level for other instructors. It would be a good representation for this resort, and a wonderful opportunity to pick up a couple of hundred dollars while trying out different slopes but it would take her away on weekends and she has already determined that is not an option she wants.

I am glad she is such a strong principled woman. May she always be. Not in a narrowminded way that chooses becauses of what others might think, but because this is what she sees from Your Word for her.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!