Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-02-18 - 12:01 p.m.

More things I've learned

More things I've learned------------

-

Don't make waves. Keep a low profile. Sometimes that is hard to do. And it is not as fun as being confrontive and attention-getting. But it is safe.

The above is probably used most by me in relationships. Withdrawal has always been the safest thing to do, both physically and emotionally. My arguments or differences with others have rarely been resolved peacefully, so the safest course is retreat. Is that cowardly? I do not know. Your Word does not address cowardice specifically but it does say that a quiet answer turns away wrath as if that were a good thing.

Poor Harry. Much energy is being expended locally bashing him. I find myself in a quandary concerning this. Most of the bashers are familiar with films and TV shows that seem to me to be much more harmful than poor Harry. Most of the children in the same circles are familiar with those same scenarios also. Is this straining at gnats and swallowing camels? Fiction is fiction. I suppose most of us in America were told by some evil parent about Cinderella, Snow White, Rumplestiltskin or the other reprobates in literature. Not to mention Hansel and Gretel.

And I thought politics made strange bedfellows!! Here I am on a very different side than usual. I remember the Care Bear and My Little Pony warnings. I actually had my own little vendetta about Strawberry Shortcake and Holly Hobby. Not because of spiritual principles, however. It was economical principles that fueled my fires. Spending enormous amounts of casual money on each new wave of merchandising characters that came on the scene seemed poor stewardship until I came to understand that the money would only be spent on something equally useless and frivolous. The motive of the heart, not the object of the purchase, was the real issue, and who is to say buying Stawberry Shortcakes is any worse than buying Jordan almonds (my own grievous weakness at the time)

In any event, much energy is expended in crusades that do not matter much in eternity. I would like to have as much courage to broadcast the imperatives of believing in Jesus Christ as the Saviour and receiving Him as the only way for forgiveness of sin and entry to the Father, as the energy to bash poor Harry.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!