Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

2002-01-18 - 11:25 a.m.

THINKING

THINKING----------

Have you smelled the smoke coming from the mountain west, heard the motors grinding and the gears clanking? Yup, that's me--thinking.

Been thinking about the word 'prescriptive' in regard to faith, belief, and their practices. Let's see, what is the definition? I am familiar with the use of prescription but have only considered it in the context of medication, so I looked up some meanings and origins. I love words! And I love the Webster's big dictionary, the 5 inch thick one.

Prescribe: to lay down in writing, as a rule or a course of action to be followed; appoint, ordain, or enjoin.

Prescript: that which is prescribed, or laid down as a rule, precept, or order.

Prescriptive: giving directions or injunctions.

Yes, I have a prescriptive faith. It is based on the Word of God, the Bible. It contains rules, courses of action to be followed, precepts, orders and directions. If God said it, I believe it, and that settles it. I am not drawn to meditations, or feelings. In fact, I have learned long ago that my feelings are as fickle as the weather, and my meditations have often proved to be pretty ridiculous as time went by. I remember figuring out as a teenager that the Bible was written by rich people to keep poor people contented with pie in the sky by and by. Naturally I had never explored any of the history of the Bible or its authenticity. I just thought up that bunch of malarkey all by my teenybopper self.

I also knew if I could find a rock with a white ring around it that I could have my next wish.

Saying a certain little rote saying every night before sleeping kept everything in control. Woe betide the world if I forgot even one iota of that litany.

Yes, the Great Physician wrote out a prescription for me; one that saved my life and keeps me healthy. One that I follow faithfully. I trust my Doctor and His medicine.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!