Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Oct. 06, 2009 - 10:02 a.m.

Still Ticking

According to Diaryland, I haven't updated for 47 days! My days are just too busy and everything takes longer the older I get. Not sleeping much at night, but I have to keep my leg elevated enough so the swelling doesn't take over, so I get plenty of reading done, which is good because I can barely keep ahead of all the new books, fiction, nonfiction, young adult, and juvenile that looks like it would appeal to me and my particular patrons.

I try to come into the library a little after noon which could give me up to 2 hrs to catch up on journals and email, but that never quite happens. Sometimes I feel like our old black lab Wimpy when she would have 11 or 12 pups. If my face is on site, I am available. Actually I am fortunate that is so, because at my age and speed, my director still values me. In fact, I now have an official title, Cirulation Supervisor, and my own special login one step higher than the rest of circulation. That is referred to as a higher level of responsibility, but I really think it is higher level of blame!

I was pleased to go to the annual State Library Conference this year, first time ever. It was in our town and registration for all seminars and meals was $180, but didn't have to stay all night, so the Director had all three of us department heads go also instead of none or just one. The workshops were great, there were refreshments with the vendors before and after each one, and two lunch meals and a dinner award banquet. Food was great, but just sitting and 'refreshing' made for long heavy days. I ate nothing at home and fasted for a while over the weekend.

One thing I came away from was a determination to never participate in a group activity again. I shall quietly dismiss myself from the room and come back in when the activity is over. I am too old to have to endure that kind of torture any more. So there!!

We had 2-4 inches of snow over the weekend. It is mostly gone now, but I still have the tomatoes covered. If it warms up, the rest may ripen. Otherwise, I shall have to bring them in. I have 3 huge green ones that 2d gave me that I want to batter and fry. Haven't had good fried green tomatoes for a few years. None were big enough. I like the littler tomatoes for ordinary things but the big ones are sure good in their special place.

Life at home goes on as usual. Everyone is in various stages of OK. Some not in my idea of ideal, but that is their choice. It is neat to see 2s step into his little niece's life with help in horse 4-H. She did so well in all her events this first year and even got to go to district where she won 4 ribbons, red, yellow and green. That is a great accomplishment for an 11 yr old's first year. It is the first time I have seen her enthusiastic about something positive and healthy. She is staying the school year with 2d again, and her mamma comes and gets her once a month when the school has its twoday shutdowns. That seems to keep everyone contented. 2d would like to have her permanently, and that could happen if 1d gets worse before graduation. 1d has been taking better care of herself personally and the diabetes seems under control, but her decision-making processes are deteriorating as the stroke and seizure activity take their toll. In the meantime, Cowboy is getting better and better. His thinking is clear, his goals are encouraging and hopefully another year or so will see him able to step up to the plate and care for his mom.

2s and 3s are both working hard. Late forties is a time to get ahead all one can and they are busy at that, along with fun time.

All in all, I am contented to watch them all, even tho I don't get to do it up close that much. 2d is my liason to everyone. As the youngest by 10 years, she can avoid the sticky places siblings often get into with each other, and she gets together with various groupings of them as circumstances arise. I am glad no one is fighting, that is always so hard. Thank You for all You are doing with each one of us. Even the hard times have been good for us.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!