Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Wednesday, Mar. 26, 2008 - 10:03 a.m.

What's new? How is the world treating you....?

Don't know how deep that old song was buried. Sometimes things just float to the surface, and don't even have to be something I was fond of. That song was one of them.

This is my second full time week at the plant. Busy getting hiring things done, but it is break right now. I leave at 7 am each weekday, and usually don't get back til after 7:30 that evening. Tulips are two inches high and buds are forming on the rosebushes. I haven't been to the pool for over 2 weeks and can't get up much enthusiasm when gas is so high. Maybe I should park the Marquis and get a cheap old car with better mileage. Saw a 93 Plymouth for $900 OBO. That would be about 5 months of gas fillups for the Marquis so the issue may be six of one, half dozen of another. I get about 16 mpg around town which is all I drive anymore. Only have about 2 miles where I can drive at 55 mph. All the rest is 25-45 mph which really eats up the gas. The Marquis is very comfortable and well preserved, so I guess I will just put up with some minor details. Two trips a day to town will take some thinking about. Perhaps the benefit to me physically to swim offsets the cost of an extra trip, ....maybe not.

I missed church last week for the first time in years. 2d was away skiing and watching 3s at a hockey tournament, and since I usually take her, I just skipped. Didn't do a thing special except cook a bit fancier meal. I thought 2s might come over for a meal, but only was able to leave a message on his phone, and he didn't show up. I fixed a baked chicken and a big baked yam, salad, fresh asparagus with mayonnaise/lemon dressing, wheat rolls, and fresh strawberries. Sure was a change from the huge turkey or ham Easter dinner with new outfits and colored eggs of long past years. A time for ..everything, just be flexible. Those years were full of frustrations and problems, too, one just remembers the good times. These are good times, also.

My satisfactions come from a good book, and a comfortable bed, with tasty things to eat, and a dependable car. Job satisfaction is generally favorable and the scenery outside is great.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!