Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Dec. 20, 2007 - 10:39 a.m.

Death and "The Ship"

The Ship

I am standing upon the seashore. A ship at my side spreads her white sails in the morning breeze and starts for the blue ocean. She is an object of beauty and strength and I stand and watch until at last she hangs like a speck of white cloud just where the sea and sky come down to mingle with each other. Then someone at my side says, there she goes!�

Gone Where? Gone from my sight� that is all. She is just as large in mast and hull and spar as she was when she left my side and just as able to bear her load of living freight to the place of destination. Her diminished size is in me, not in her. And just at the moment when someone at my side says, �There she goes!� there are other eyes watching her coming and other voices ready to take up the glad shout, �There she comes!�

Henry Jackson Van Dyke (1852-1933)


2d came over last night to bring me some baklava and Almond Roca. As we three sat at the oak table visiting, 800 started to tell tales of his youth. Stories that our chldren have never heard. He was a very naughty little boy, and ran wild on the ranch and the year they were in Bremerton when he was in 2nd grade. But the stories were also filled with Italian, German and Japanese POW stories, for this was wartime. So much history is revised now to be politically correct that we will never know the truth unless someone keeps it.

The library weeds the collection every year, and the main criteria is if no one has checked a book out in 2 years. What a loss! Durant's history may go because of this, and a many volumed history written in 1914.. the facts haven't changed just the presentation or inclusion. Our culture changes our history.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!