Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Sept. 12, 2006 - 2:03 p.m.

Good times and bad--mountain d pic

This has been a sad summer for family, much like the recent past and not likely to improve immediately, but I have Hope that this is in Your perfect control and am even content to see what will happen. Mostly I have to remember that things often get worse before getting better, and not go ballistic when they do. Easier said than done. This pic is d when he was 13, right before the dark times started for his mom and then him, or was it vice-versa? For the next few years, the hard rebel look was often apparent, but this week, I saw a sadness in his eyes, and heard a different tone and attitude. Some growth is taking place, and changes can be made. I don't see that in her yet, but You are working, I can see that. I love them both so much, but I am not on their side in this fight. I want to love what You love, and hate what You hate, so I'll just be patient until that is their desire also. Nothing that they have done is any worse than the way I was when young. My attitudes were just as bad or worse, but You changed my life. There have been times when I stepped back into that mess, but only in my mind, and You have been merciful to draw me out before it was too late. My ways of escape have been many, but plain to me.

Keep this boy's life safe, and bring him back to the 'joy of his salvation.' I only have to look at us older ones to know that will happen. In the meantime, I am learning alot about how to live in new circumstances, and maybe newer ones to come.

After A While

...After a while you learn
The subtle difference between holding a hand
And chaining a soul.
And you learn that love doesn�t mean leaning,
And company doesn�t always mean security.

You begin to learn that kisses aren�t contracts
And presents aren�t promises,
And you begin to accept your defeats with your head up
And your eyes ahead
With the grace of a woman, not the grief of a child.

And you learn to build all your roads on today
Because tomorrow�s ground is too uncertain for plans,
And futures have a way of falling down in mid-flight.

After a while you learn
That even sunshine burns if you get too much.
So you plant your own garden,
And decorate your own soul,
Instead of waiting for someone to bring you flowers.

And you learn that you really can endure.
You really are strong
You really do have worth
And you learn
And you learn
With every goodbye, you learn......

Veronica A. Shoffstall

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!