Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Sunday, Jul. 30, 2006 - 4:51 p.m.

The Wall-------fawn pics

800 and I went to the fairgrounds to see the Moving Vietnam Memorial Wall. I took some rubbings of a young man who died while we were at our first church. He had only a few weeks left over there, but an explosive device ended his life. His family were mountain people who had a small 'ranch' at the back edge of the tiny town. Scraggly pasture, rundown barn, a few cattle, some rabbits and chickens, a big dog and some cats. He was the only son, and his two teen sisters worshipped him. They were big heavyset girls, and he opened the normal world to them as he went through high school as a popular athlete. It devastated the whole family, and they went slightly nuts for a while. They received $10,000 for his death and just frittered it away in a few weeks. They even bought us two brightly colored ceramic parrots to hang on the wall that are in our bedroom now. The oldest girl usually babysat when we would go to monthly meetings. She married a man much older than she after we left there, and sent us pictures of two roly-poly little ones. I lost touch with her, but will try to find an address to send the rubbings to. I am sure they still own the home place.

I sent these pics to 3s and he replied "pictures like that ought to be the reason everyone sees the fact of God in creation and ourselves-probably what God had in mind when He started this world."
(The mother came and got her baby after these pics were taken)

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!