Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Thursday, Jan. 12, 2006 - 9:51 a.m.

A new life....

My first day at a new job..this week I work this afternoon and evening, tomorrow opening til afternoon, and Saturday all day. Do I wear a dress so I'll have a big pocket to keep notes and pencil in, my velvet outfits that look so nice, casual denims and shirts that several staff wear?

This will probably be one of the last major lifestyle changes in my life. It is overlapping the last few years of school. If I become enfeebled, that will likely be the final stage, but who knows how long this one will last. I hope that I and the librarian can agree to call a halt if things seem to be a bad fit for either side. I've been part of the library too long to want it to become a negative experience. See, there I go, rehearsing all the possibilities. That's not really worrying, it's just preparation.

On days I have to leave early, I'll leave as much of a nice meal as I can for 800. Today, there is a nice rotisserie chicken from the freezer, and I'll make a special green salad, maybe even a sugar free jello. A washed baked potato and bowl of vegetables to microwave will complete the meal and he'll be all set. He likes to eat about 4:30 since he gets up early and eats lunch early.

I guess my biggest concern is my temp job at m's. It pays very good money for just sitting at the switchboard, being congenial and helpful. I like that. I could even let that be my only job if it were a little more scheduled for budgeting. I worked last year a total of 9 weeks, here and there. Of course, I often feel guilty taking money for doing so little when there are no projects lined up.

The library pays significantly less, even though I will be starting near the very top of their scale because of my degree. There are always quandaries in any venture. My dream has always been to be around books, altho it's a bit like a drunk tending bar. I wonder if my reading amounts will drop.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!