Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jan. 07, 2006 - 2:12 p.m.

Catastrophe!!!!!

Just when I thought it was safe to go back in the water....oh, different story. Yesterday, after the previous day's wonderfulness, I went into the library for my interview, checked out a few more books, cashed some work checks, and went back to WalMart for some money orders to pay the January bills. Then I decided I'd better stop off at the satellite campus office just to make sure I didn't have to add the Portfolio class, and to check to see if I had all the classes necessary to fulfil the Library Science list. To my shock, horror, whatever else terrrible, not right, upsetting word one wants to insert, the general advisor said I was short 4 credits of the core requirements for an A.A.!!!!!

How could that have happened? I have faithfully counted credits and classes every way from Friday and never dreamed I would be short in the core. I have accumulated 106 credits since Spring of 03 and couldn't believe I didn't have enough. After the initial shock wore off, I started to examine possibilities. The advisor thought I should just take a 4 credit class, either Concepts of Biology, or Beginning Spanish, both of which meet twice a week from late afternoon till 9 or 10. That would eliminate Bible study for the whole semester if I took Biology and one or two more nights of availability to work at the library (if I got the job).

Neither of those alternatives were acceptable to me right then, so I called my case manager to let him hear the bad news. He didn't seem upset, just told me to do my research and if I needed to add more classes, the book money would be available. It really helps that my tuition is free because of my age. He didn't even think I should tell the library to take my name off the list because of the narrowing of days able to work, but to do some negotiations with them. Hah.

I spent several hours last night with the catalog and the new semester course list, and I think I may have found a solution (or even several). You will have to make the choice for me, and I will just walk forward through whatever door opens.

Here are my options and the plusses and minuses.

1)Take either the Spanish or Biology for 4 credits and two extra nights at school. +only one book to buy +Spanish,becoming a bit bilingual -more nights out -more gas money -doing classes I have no interest in or dislike the subject of -loss of 2 more week nights of availability at library -loss of Midweek Bible Study.
Since the second night of Spanish is a Thursday, when I have to go to bigtown to Library class, that was eliminated immediately.

2)Look for some online or Independent Study classes that are on the core list. +I like online and Independent Study classes +no one but me would be affected by having to add 1 or 2 of them +testing would be more my style, with lots of writing assignments added -very few choices that are both Independent and on core list -no 4 credit classes, so 2 classes would be necessary, bringing my semester load up to 20 (I thought I had learned my lesson last semester!) +I found some online or Independent classes that I wouldn't mind doing _unfortunately, they aren't English Lit or Western Civ or Music Appreciation or something easy +one is another Geography class from Ms. H. +if it's like the other, I would work at my own pace, could finish early before things got hectic like last time -multiple choice test in the testing room over each section +possible bonus assignments +one is a US History class -after the Civil War +possibility of pr-Civil War class +I know what the History class would be like +reading sections and writing papers -every 2 weeks +possibility of writing papers quicker which gives incentive +may be a Cultural Anthropology Independent class -don't know anything about format and content.

I think I will just sign up for the Independent classes Monday, leave the library decision up to You and the choosing committee, trust that You will give me the strength to complete 2 extra classes, and whatever jobs You have for me this spring, whether nights and weekends at the library or days in the office at m's, or whatever.

That way I can have my cake and eat it,too, maybe. I am going to start taking my blood pressure meds regularly again. I don't want to stroke out.

Actually, I look forward to doing some other type of class. The education classes are all concerning special ed, and while the subject is worthy, all the chippercacky thrown out in the other ones on that subject was hard to swallow. I guess it is just like eating an elephant, one bite at a time.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!