Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Monday, Jan. 02, 2006 - 2:58 p.m.

Baby, it's cold down here! + 2d ski pic

The power bill was almost $200 in December!!!! Luckily, if I pay before the 15th, $50 comes off, but that is still a whole bunch of money. I did notice that 800 shut off the heat lamps he had running in the shop, and I am grateful. I haven't even kept the house really warm. We wear sweaters, and do other heat conserving things, but the temps stayed about 11 degrees for about 14 days, and it will probably get colder again in January. I am glad the power goes down to $60 and $70 the rest of the year.

I just have to keep trusting You to provide ways to keep us afloat. New Year's Eve was just as nice as Christmas. Pretty low key with only us, two grandgirls, and two kids here. Lots of salsa, chips, Lil Smokies, punch and cheesecake and a few games of Rummikub lasted til a little after 10, then the party broke up. 800 used to shoot his shotgun off at midnite, to the great deliaght of the children, but times change and that is not a great idea anymore.

Someone has bought the farm ground to the north of us and intends to put a development on it. It will take a long time to get the nearest city permission, sewer and water there, so it's no big deal right now. And probably won't be when the event actually happens. The Russian olives on two sides of this place make a fairly effective barrier, and I don't mind watching civilization pass by. We have plenty of ground. I read once that all the ground a person needs is the property surrounding his place, but when you start examining that statement, that could take in alot of acres. A person should always put their home in the middle of their property, then no matter how much ground they have, or who moves closer, there is a middle haven.

In any case, we have no permanent dwelling here on this earth. I have always had the theory that Heaven is located at the North Star, and I often look up all those miles into the sky. Nothing between me and that place that never moves. Sometimes, I even wave, and holler, "Hi, 1s, save us a place!"

Life as usual starts tomorrow, and I don't have any certain plans for the next two weeks. Maybe it is time for cleaning and sorting.....not. 2d has had plenty of skiing the last few days, is up there today, and will go every Tuesday, Thursday, and Saturday the rest of the season.

She has been skiing 23 years now, the last 14 as an instructor. She says she is finally getting a little tired of it, and doesn't stay out all day. Even sits around in the lodge in between students if the weather is yucky. I'll believe it when I see it.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!