Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Tuesday, Oct. 18, 2005 - 11:27 a.m.

Company!!-library pic

My little friend sy from school and work is coming over this afternoon. We have a couple of online classes together and I have helped her with math and computer in the past. She doesn't have a scanner and needs to send a graph she made to our teacher. She could fax it but it would cost money to do that, and I am a tightwad. She is one of the few people who call me, and like she says, it is usually because she wants something. Actually, I don't have anyone right now who calls just to visit except lil sis on holidays. That is my own fault for being a low maintenance friend, and I am usually not bothered about it. I think I have relied on the girls for most of my companionship for all these years, and I am trying my best to let them be their own people now. But sometimes I miss them alot.

Anyway, I am looking forward to my visitor even if it is because she wants something. All relationships stripped down are probably based on wanting something from someone else, and that is ok, too. Right now I have several cyberfriends. In most of those friendships, I am alot more aware of them than they are of me. In fact, some probably don't even realize I feel like their friend, as I lurk at the edges of their lives. I rejoice in their happiness or grieve over their heartbreaks. I lift them up to You in prayer, but will likely never see them or hear from them in any but the most superficial ways. Sometimes I think I must be pretty pathetic.

This is the Pasco Carnegie Public Library and I can remember walking up those big steps and entering the treasure vaults. I even remembered some of the books I took from the shelves when I was very little and picture them leaving the row and opening in my hands. Snip, Snap, and Snurr and Ricka, Dicka, and Flicka. I haven't thought of those books in years. I don't know how old I was then but it must have been pretty little, because I know I was 9 when the library started sending a bookmobile out Grandpa's road and our trailer was parked there for a couple of years. Daddy had suspended an old metal bedspring upside down between two big trees and we kids would put a blanket in there and play and read in the summer. I shall have to find a picture of that and put it here. The bookmobile would stop on the road right by this old bedspring swing and we would get another supply of books. We spent most of our summer days right in that yard or somewhere on the 5 acres. Polio was striking down kids all over the West right then in the late 40's and early 50's and Mamma kept us home and away from other kids as much as possible. The kids on the next farm and her sis's kids were about the only companionship we had. Back in those days, she would say, "You can go over to Hampton's for an hour". Or Bev's mom would let her come over to my place for an hour. When the hour was up, the play was over until the next day. I got a used bike when I was 10, and would ride it down to the little store once in a while. I especially liked to save up enough money to get the latest issue of the Western Horseman, and would pour over its pictures wishing I had a horse. I learned which were the popular bloodlines for the Quarterhorses in those days, but my favorites were the lovely Arabians and Walter Farley's Black stallion books fanned that flame that has never completely died out.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!