Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Oct. 15, 2005 - 11:48 a.m.

Birthday call

Lil sis called me this week-a late Happy Birthday which she promised never to do again. I told her she didn't hear me making such promises! I was still at class when she called so she talked to 800 for an hour and them 2 more hours with me. We just never run out of things to say. I wish we had been that close when we were younger. That was not her fault. My two girls are going through a similar phase. They have been close in the past, but aren't right now even tho they spend time with each other.

Poor 1d is not close with anyone right now. She has done so many foolish things in the past that she has alienated those who still love her best. I am glad to see her relationship with 800 getting good again. They have gone deer hunting 3 times this week, and both have enjoyed it. 2d may have always been the peacemaker, but 1d has been his friend. She knows the time is coming when she must move back here, and is doing her best to mend fences. She will be getting her back SS money soon and will probably fritter it off, but I am not going to interfere or nag her about it. I am going to take as much as I can get if she offers it again, and will tell 2s to do that also. We paid a lot of her expenses in the last two years and she has expressed the wish to pay it back, which we have both refused. But I think we should take it and put it in an account for her to use later. That would satisfy us and help her. I may be surprised though. She may use her head and do some wise thinking. Much of her 'don't care' attitude left when the consequences started rolling. I think that's what is called growing up. It has happened to me over the years, too.

I worked 3 partial days in the HR office this week. Have about 5 days scheduled for November. I was surprised to see that I have earned $2000+ there this year. That is more than enough to make the ends meet when my stipend ends this month. Thank You. I haven't felt broke and have put away enough for the big expenses of the winter and spring. I have even bought some things I could have done without.

One of those items was a rug steam cleaner about the size of my vacuum cleaner for $70. The downstairs shower is leaking and water spread into the back office where 800 hatches eggs. The soaked carpet started to smell so I bought the steamer and ran several sessions of shampoo through. The smell was taken care of and I can use the steamer upstairs on the beige carpeting. I have the great big one I bought in 94, but it has to be hooked up to the kitchen faucet and is very heavy and awkward to move around and empty. The attachment hooking it to the faucet is broken and a new one hasn't been available for a while. I think I will use this steamer much more. I also had a shopvac I could have used to suck the water up, but wouldn't have been able to eliminate the odor of the stale water for a long time.

Two other items I didn't really need were the VCRs of Red Badge of Courage and To Kill A Mockingbird. Have never seen either, but have read the books often. Since I watch very little of the 2 TV channels available, I am not sorry for having paid $4 for each one, but I could have done without and will have to get used to doing so.

This feels like a good bed day. I think I will indulge myself.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!