Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Saturday, Jul. 23, 2005 - 2:35 p.m.

No place to go

800 turned his small flock of pheasant breeders out this week. The hens had almost all of their feathers gone and were no longer laying very fertile eggs, and he thought maybe they could find a happy life in the farm and scrap ground around us. Some of them may have, but some we know met a different fate. One hen refused to leave the pen, and two came back that night to the pen and were killed by Smooch, it is supposed, since she was crouched over the second one in the day after we found a dead one in the early morning.

Another hen came back and 800 netted her and put her in the pen, and then the rooster came back, and is now in the pen, also. We now have a farm for old birds, something we always kidded about in previous years. It is not always merciful to let creatures back into the wild. I hope the rest find sanctuary. There is a wild rooster who comes around to visit the females, and a hatched one that 800 turned out when the other was pecking him, so the females may have already joined up. I hope so. We probably should have butchered them, but I think 800 is getting as squeamish about that as I am.

I finished my first week of helping in summer school, and I am so sad. I don't see much help for these students. The few short weeks are not going to help much of their problems. Most of them have an attitude issue of one sort or another, perhaps from already thinking themselves failures. Many do not arrive on time, or with much home attention given to details. Two thoughts I had while helping and observing. 1) The parents are the ones who need help and 2) Some of the parents need to see videos of just how stupid their kids can act. But I wonder how much care there even would be. Within my own circle of acquaintences and family, I have seen situations just like what I watched. You are the only cure, and we have tossed You out.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!