Xanga journal

AGELESS

Sign up for my Notify List and get email when I update!

email:
powered by
NotifyList.com


powered by SignMyGuestbook.com

Get your own diary at DiaryLand.com! contact me older entries newest entry

Friday, Jun. 24, 2005 - 1:52 p.m.

A little help

I would really appreciate it if some of my internet journal heroes (and heroines) would help me with an Astronomy assignment. The assignment is to interview persons who remember the first moon landing with Neil Armstrong, "one small step for man, one giant leap for mankind". What does the person remember, how did they feel (positive or negative) and what are their thoughts today on the issue. You are all of an age to remember that day as an adult, and all lead such varied lives in different areas of the country than I do and I would appreciate your thoughts. In fact, and I tremble at my temerity, I would love to see a journal entry on the subject!

Hopefully, kdip

I sent this letter out this morning to a few people whose journals I read regularly. They are a very eclectic group and I hope I get some replies. Most of the older folk who keep journals probably remember the first landing well and also their reactions at the time. The teacher said he wasn't necessarily looking for any famous people, just random comments from the world at large about their memories of the landing.

I remember it well. We had just settled down in the north part of the state in a small town parsonage after 4 schoolterms in Canada. In those four years, we were in school 8 months, and in a temporary home for the summer while 800 worked long hours trying to fund another year at school. His folks were the only ones we visited with TV so we weren't too familiar with all the history of NASA's programs, but an elderly lady in our little town gave us her old TV.

The TV went in our bedroom, and occasionally I would let the kids go in there on a Saturday morning and watch a few select cartoons. For the rest of the time, it stayed off. It was black and white, and was connected to a crickety old antenna that could only be reached by an even cricketier ladder that 1s, 8 at the time, could crawl up and shake the leadin wire til a picture would come in..kinda. To the best of my memory, 800 was away at camp the week of the moon mission and I wanted to watch this myself, and wanted the kids to watch this moment in history also. I don't remember that they were very interested at 8, 7, 6, and 5 and the picture wasn't very good either. But I remember that I tried to stay in that black bedroom and watch as much as I could.

|

EE's devotional

newAutumn Leaves

previous - next

about me - read my profile! read other DiaryLand diaries! recommend my diary to a friend! Get your own fun + free diary at DiaryLand.com!